RSS

On a lighter note…

13 Jun

I’m currently sitting in the saloon getting my hair done. Which means I’ve got some free time even if it is just a few hours. Anyway, a few things just occurred to me:

I’ll need a new saloon
I’m hungry – I’m gonna miss Nigerian food.

Things have gotten under control at work so I have a little spare time here and there to put into my preparation. I’m already finalizing my financing but I’m still on the apartment waitlist which is worrisome. A few apartments became available but the one within my price range was available almost a month before I plan to be at Chicago while the others that will be available around the time I plan to be in Chicago have been outside my price range.  I’m beginning to wonder if there is any middle ground. If I don’t get anything from my preferred buildings in this coming week, I’ll start looking for apartments in south loop (I really do cos I’ve gotten used to the idea of living the building I chose).

I’ve also been wondering how I’m going to survive without Nigerian food. I’m not a foodie but the spiciness of Nigerian food is just right which is where the problem is. I may be able to find palm oil and rice and corn flour but where will I find spices whose english names I do not know? (Any ideas what ugba is in english?) In the event that I don’t want to cook -which will very likely be more common than cooking – where do I  get ofada rice? Or banga and starch? Or ewa agoyin? Fura de nono?

Bellyaching done. Here’s my plan: Get as much naija as I can into my system before September. And here is my food wishlist (all of which I must eat at least once in the next 8 weeks)

1. Pounded yam and egusi with bitterleaf
2. Amala and ewedu with gbegiri
3. Ofada rice and sauce
4. Ukpo oka
5. Banga soup
6. Ofe nsala
7. Eforiro
8. Ogbono soup
9. Ofe onugbu
10. Suya
11. Akara and akamu
12. Party jollof rice 😀
13. Abacha
14. Nkwobi
15. Peppsoup (cowtail, goat meat)
16. Okro soup  (the kind that we mix with stew)
17. Yam porridge
18. Ewa Agoyin

There are probably a few things I left out but this is just a guide. There’s nothing I can do about the saloon. 🙂

P.S: Nigerians in the states, is there any restrictions on the amount of ijebu garri and indomie I can carry into the US? Help a sister plan.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on June 13, 2015 in School preparation

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

8 responses to “On a lighter note…

  1. topdogmba

    June 14, 2015 at 2:57 pm

    Wow! Coming to the same realisation myself, but as a current ‘expat’ will be less of a culture shock (already missing home!).

    Just signed a lease on a Boston townhouse though. Was a murderous week finding somewhere that worked – don’t envy your situation. Good luck with the house hunt and hair salon search!

    Not long to go now! 😉

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      June 14, 2015 at 5:43 pm

      Congrats on the house. That should be me soon.

      Not long at all just realized it was even shorter than I had been thinking but its ok. Looking forward to it.

       
  2. mbablackgirl

    June 18, 2015 at 12:05 am

    Haha I love the seriousness of this! As a Nigerian born and raised in UK and travelled the states excessively don’t worry you will ALWAYS ALWAYS find a Naij bukka, food store or dining in every American city.
    Feel free to bring as much garri and indomie, as far as the UK and most of what I know I’m the states you can bring as much as you like. If it’s stockfish then you have a different issue.
    Spices are helpful to bring but you should be able to source them out there. Warning they won’t be cheap! Alternatively stop by London and stock up there. We have everything!

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      June 18, 2015 at 4:21 pm

      Thanks dear. I just breathed a sigh of relief

       
  3. Fabulous Fab (@zeroplustwo_)

    July 6, 2015 at 4:30 pm

    http://www.Nigerianfoods.com claims to deliver ingredients across the US so that should help. Good luck!!!

     
  4. j2insead

    July 16, 2015 at 4:36 pm

    HI NaijaMBAgal, Been following your interesting blog. Looking forward to your next update. Congrats on your Booth admit!!! Do you have any information on external scholarships for prospective African MBA students?

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      August 11, 2015 at 9:53 am

      Hi, unfortunately I do not. I also searched, the only scholarships I saw were school specific.

       

Add your voice

 
