RSS

Plans, Plans & more Plans

05 May

That seems to be all my life is about now. I really wish I could afford to go on funemployment right now so I can fully focus on preparing for school but I can’t for two reasons, only one of which is money. *sigh*.

I’ve recently realised that I’m not as disorganised as I thought but I’m not as organised as most type-A personalities, though I will agree that I am a ‘plan-a-holic’. This is what my current ‘final’ plan looks like (dates are the latest possible date for concluding the tasks – I hope):

  1. Send out official transcript – May 29
  2. Pay for random walk – June 1
  3. Financial aid (discussion and finalization) – June 10
  4. Apply for I20 – June 11
  5. Finalize apartment and lease – June 16
  6. Visa Application/ interview – June 30
  7. Notify the firm – July 1
  8. Medical form confirmation from doctor/ updated Immunizations – July 31
  9. Spend time with the folks before I travel – August (ish)
  10. Order Laptop – August 12 (hopefully, I should have decided between the X1 carbon (2015) and the dell XPS 13 (2015))
  11. Move to Chicago – August 18 (maybe a bit earlier)
  12. Phone, Bank accounts etc. – August 19
  13. Put apartment in semi-livable shape  – August 20 or after random walk
  14. Sort out my wardrobe (historically, I dress for comfort, but I need a couple of suits and stuff for recruiting, formal events & the likes) – September 9

The checklist on the Booth website is not as comprehensive as I would like. I think I may be missing out on somethings. Be kind enough to drop it in the comment session if your school has a comprehensive list.

I’ll blog about some of the major items when I get to/through them. Going by the plan, I am currently free to stalk the internet (zillow, class of 2017 apartment transfer/ furniture sales, sales of all kinds, household item stores, clothes stores etc.)

P.S: Its one year since my first post (which ironically should have told me about my fate for last application season *shrugs* ). A big thank you to everyone that reads this, I never expected to have people so invested in my journey that they feel the disappointment and the excitements with me.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on May 5, 2015 in School preparation

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Plans, Plans & more Plans

  1. topdogmba

    May 5, 2015 at 2:10 pm

    Hey! Good to hear we’re in a similar state planning-wise. It’s a strange feeling being in my office but not doing any work, just trying to think if I’ve missed something in my plan or how to save a few Dollars here or there.

    It’ll be worth the wait Naija! It’s been fun sharing the journey with you to date – Happy Birthday! 🙂

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      May 5, 2015 at 8:25 pm

      I envy you not doing any work. I’m stretched to the max with projects. I know that feeling of missing something, I guess we have started experiencing FOMO 🙂 . If you figure out anyway to save a few bucks, I’ll be glad to hear about it. Every cent counts these days.

      Thanks for being one of the pillars of this blog 🙂

       
  2. Vandana

    May 8, 2015 at 11:53 am

    Hey Naija – Just wondering if you’ve figured out what to do about health insurance yet. AFAIK, it’s mandatory to have health insurance while you’re in the US (even as an international student) apart from getting immunizations in our countries. Does Booth have an insurance plan that it recommends to students?

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      May 8, 2015 at 1:29 pm

      I have not. I know it is mandatory and that it is factored into the estimated cost of attendance. I’ll have to ask other students about the insurance plan. I know university of chicago has a health insurance plan, I don’t know if Boothies can use it though. Please let me know if you figure it out.

       
      • Vandana

        May 11, 2015 at 9:20 am

        Kellogg has a recommended insurance plan that is compulsory for international students – so I guess I have no choice there! We have to take the NU AETNA Plan. Not sure if there’s something similar for Booth. What I do know is that if you have family in the US, you can opt for their insurance plan and waive your university plan (which might be a good idea coz these university plans are really expensive!). I guess that’s applicable for parents/spouse living or working in the US with their own insurance plan.

         
        • NaijaMBAgal

          May 11, 2015 at 11:04 am

          I think its the same with Booth. You can opt-out if you have a comparable insurance which I guess is possible when you have lived in the US for a while. I am trying to see if I can get another provider for less than the ~3200 Booth offers theirs for. I’m not certain how much success I will get with that.

           

Add your voice

 
