RSS

On your marks …

30 Apr

It’s been a while since I posted anything here. Very sorry for the silence but it was necessary. Here’s a rundown of what has happened since my last post:

  • I’ve gone on a mini-vacation
  • Gotten on an (read: several) apartment wait list (also actively searching on Zillow)
  • had a minor surgery
  • Freaked out over the financial implications of getting an MBA (this is almost routine now)
  • Turned down a job offer
  • Turned down a post-MBA job offer (two actually)
  • Met with a few members of the Booth class of 2017 (nice people)
  • Paid my second commitment deposit
  • Wrapped up several projects at work

That turned out to be quite a list 🙂 , I’ve been busy. 

I’m going to try my best to update this blog regularly with my preparation process as it begins to hit “full gear”. I’m not certain I will be keeping it up when I get to school but we’ll see how that goes.

I’ve been in contact with Booth severally concerning financial aid and MBA financing. I’m currently in the phase where I have to wait to see “if additional funds do become available”. After which I will have to start making the rest of the decisions. Luckily, I have taken most of the immunizations required by Booth or so my doctor assures me. I still have to get him to fill the form which is not so easy when you live in a different city from your family doctor, (I just realised that I never moved my records to my current hospital).

Also, I had a little snag in my Revera verification, they needed a document from me which took me almost a month to locate because I keep my files in my family home rather than my rented apartment.

As it turns out, laptop decisions are NOT easy. I’ve always been a fan of powerhouse computers with wide screens (for photo editing), the only catch is that ALL computers in that category are heavy; definitely not for toting to and from classes. From CES 2015, I fell in love with the new dell xps13, but I’ve been told dell computers don’t last very long, there’s also the issue of cost which I’m beginning to find out is a strong enough reason to sway a decision.

On housing, Booth has no dorms so we all have to sort ourselves out. The good part is that we mostly live in downtown Chicago, around the loop and in certain buildings. The not-so-good part is that the rent is more expensive than it is in Hyde park closer to school. So I had to decide if the social part of the MBA was worth the significantly extra (almost double) rent I was going to pay. And it is, at least I think so right now. Since I have refused to live in MPP (yelp reviews have scared the daylights out of me), I find myself scouring Zillow and apartment sites to find something good within my range i.e. a studio in a livable building with Boothies and a decent rent. Problem is I think studios are out of the market, I’m yet to find one and although I still have a lot of time, I’m beginning to get worried. As a last option, I’ll share a 2BR apt with another Boothie but I’d rather not because I REALLY love living alone and I’m already very used to it 🙂

I think that covers all the bellyaching I have to do today. If you’re going to B-school this fall, please drop a comment on your preparations. It may help me ant others. Also any thoughts on Laptops and B-school life are welcome.

P.S: Congrats to all R2 admits. I haven’t said that before 🙂

P.P.S: Any ideas how I can make more money or get things for free?

 
6 Comments

Posted by on April 30, 2015 in School preparation

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “On your marks …

  1. topdogmba

    April 30, 2015 at 4:49 pm

    Haha! Now the real work begins!

    I’m similarly mired in a lot of pre-MBA logistical planning – will write up a blog post about it soon 🙂

    Keep at it (you know it’s going to be worth it!) and sending positive vibes your way…

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      April 30, 2015 at 6:48 pm

      Thanks. Lasting to the point where it’s worth it is the goal. Can’t wait to read about your plans.

       
  2. Vandana

    May 1, 2015 at 4:54 am

    Hey! I’ve been meaning to do a blog on pre-MBA prep but have been putting it off! I’ll do one soon – thanks for the inspiration! At Kellogg, students are not allowed laptops in classes – atleast none that require us to keep our screen upright. From what I’ve heard, the most popular choices on campus for us are Surface Pro 3 and the Thinkpad Yoga. You can look at those options. I do think around June/July, you’ll start seeing student discounts on various laptop models – ask around in the Booth group! As for housing, have you checked out listings on veryapt.com? It’s an awesome site, especially for MBA students to look at housing options around campus.

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      May 1, 2015 at 7:36 am

      Hey neighbor. We have an ongoing thread on laptop choices. But, there are very divergent thoughts st the moment esp when u hear what current students have to say about their experience with some of the options. I’ll check out the site. How’s your preparation going?

       
  3. Asanas and an MBA

    May 2, 2015 at 4:09 am

    So exciting!! You have so much to look forward to – keep us posted!

     

Add your voice

 
