RSS

Tasting the fear

14 Mar

I’ve officially committed to the Booth class of 2017 and I know its a great decision. So why am I afraid? There is definitely no way I will be worse off come 2017 but I’m not all about being rational.

I’ve been house hunting, linking up with other Boothies, getting scared out of my mind, looking for fianancial aid, working hard for my upcoming promotion, trying to forget I’m leaving my entire life for a new one and repeating the entire cycle. Typically, I’m the kind of person that goes all in when I’ve committed to something but this the first time I will have to leave everything behind to get what I want. Moreso, this will completely change my life, not the kind of; if this doesn’t go through, I’ll do xyz kind of change but the all or nothing kind. Which kinda explains why I’m suddenly so fretful.

To make matters worse, things are looking up at work. A lot of the things I’ve wanted to do at work but never had the opportunity are suddenly available for me to take advantage of beginning July. Sigh.

 

I’ve been working towards this goal for oer a year yet I’m at the door and I can’t decide whether to go in or not. Please tell me I’m not alone in this.

 

 
10 Comments

Posted by on March 14, 2015 in School preparation

 

Tags: , , ,

10 responses to “Tasting the fear

  1. Omolola

    March 14, 2015 at 10:42 pm

    You are not alone, I haven’t been able to sleep when since I accepted my Simon Offer and paid the first deposit. This thing called Fear just lurks around the corner; and several qxns just keep popping up in my head and I am sure Google has had enough of me in the past week.
    Great things comes with great sacrifice; you will be fine. Wish you all the best!
    Let me know if you find anything on private loans. Thanks

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      March 15, 2015 at 3:01 am

      Thanks and all the best to you too. I’ll let you know as soon as I find anything

       
  2. Asanas and an MBA

    March 15, 2015 at 1:57 am

    I’m also the queen of buyer’s remorse! It’s so easy to second-guess yourself, but think of how different your whole career will be once you have a Booth MBA. I know it’s scary, and I can tell you it will feel weird to just “be in school” while your friends and colleagues are making career moves, but in the end you will be set up to have a SUPER successful career. Best of luck and try not to worry about this amazing opportunity in front of you!

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      March 15, 2015 at 3:03 am

      Thank you. I’ll try my best. Its just so much easier to focus on the short term.

       
  3. topdogmba

    March 15, 2015 at 11:35 am

    Hello. You’re not alone in this. I’m also making the decision all over again, having spent so long trying to get a place that I need to reassure myself it’s all the right move. I don’t doubt that I’m going, but I think it’s a natural part of preparing yourself to move on and be the best version of yourself.

    It reminds me of the comment one alum friend made to me (about HBS or MIT, I can’t remember which) that campus was full of people asking themselves “why do I deserve to be here?”, like you are not worthy of your admission or scared of the competition.

    It sounds like you’re in a good place Naija and now need to come to terms with the fact that your current job (and life) will soon be behind you. I feel exactly the same and I’m so glad you raised it on your blog.

    In reality, the only downside I can see is leaving the Mediterranean (average March temperature 20 C) for the East Coast (average March temperature, erm, 5 C)! 😉

     
  4. Omolola

    March 15, 2015 at 10:27 pm

    I would like to know if you got any financial aid from Booth’s. Trying to compare how top B schools give financial aids for certain profiles as compared to safety Schs

     
  5. pullingthatmbatrigger

    March 16, 2015 at 7:04 am

    Aaah, I think until the point you get admitted it’s all about “Will I get in?” and once you do, it becomes a question of “Am I doing the right thing?” I know it’s scary to think about leaving your whole life behind, but you’ve come this far and you’ve made all the right decisions. I think Booth will be everything you hoped it would be, so try to relax and enjoy going on this great two year adventure! Easier said than done I know, but I think it’s taking that first plunge which is difficult… after that you should be golden 🙂

     
  6. kanika

    April 9, 2015 at 11:42 pm

    Hi,

    I love your candid posts.

    We are soon launching a portal http://www.essaysandapplications.com. The aim of the portal is to make education and career decisions easier e.g. scoring high on GMAT/GRE, or getting into coveted MBA schools, getting into Law schools etc.

    And this is where you come in… I’d like to feature some of your articles

    I’d love to hear from you.

    Cheers
    Kanika
    hqATessaysappsDOTcom

     
  7. pranks

    April 13, 2015 at 9:04 am

    Hi

    I received offer from MIT Sloan, m equally scared- leaving friends and parents behind, trying for external scholarships. Infact I too doubted myself my decision several times…

     

Add your voice

 
