RSS

For Round 2 interviewees

09 Feb
First, let me say: Congrats on your invite!!
I’ve been getting a few emails from round two applicants that recently received interview invitations. So I decided to put this up to help as many as need it. I’ve listed the things I did to prepare for my interview. You can also check my interview debriefs: Booth & Sloan. And Fi’s Stanford debrief (P.S: she got in!!!)

1. I did not research my interviewer before hand – I know this seems counter-intuitive but my reasoning was that knowing about my interviewer will give me an impression or make me try to connect with him based on something I’d found out in my research. Which could be good but as I found out in my first interview, it may be something they no longer associate with. On the other hand coming in blind helped me connect to him based on things that were revealed during the interview and made for good conversation. You have to bond with your interviewer if you’re going to get a conversation going.
2. I had a list of questions that I went over. I spent a lot of time thinking about the answers and answering them to myself but not memorizing the answers. To make sure I was not sounding rehearsed, I tried to answer the questions in different ways. This helped me in the interview because, the questions were not directly asked but came up while we were discussing something else.
3. Don’t wait till the end of the interview to ask questions: my goal was to make sure I did not do more than 75% of the talking so asking small questions in between my answers drew the interviewer into the conversation (not big questions but things like, I think Booth will help me do xyz and abc, did you have any friends while in school that wanted to do abc and actually did it?)
4. No drinks. If you’re thirsty, swallow your saliva (not joking). Nothing shows nerves more than a shaking hand while trying to take a drink. Also, I found it easier to gesticulate and make my hands part of the conversation which I’ve been told makes one seem more passionate and engaged in what one is saying. So either way no drinks.
5. Be yourself. It is a little more difficult than it sounds but you really need to be yourself if you are going to be authentic and make an impact on the interviewer.
6. Send a thank you note that alludes to something that was discussed in the interview – no brainer really 🙂
P.S: you know when the interview is going well and if you notice that it is not, change the approach. Switch things up, do something to get it in the direction you wanna go.
All the best and feel free to contact me if you have any other questions.
 
8 Comments

Posted by on February 9, 2015 in Interview

 

Tags: , , , , ,

8 responses to “For Round 2 interviewees

  1. hugoness

    February 9, 2015 at 9:51 am

    Great piece of advice! I like the idea of not waiting until the end to ask, but to try and get the interviewer into the conversation. Really good insight.

    By the way: are you closer to your decision or not?

    Good luck in any case!

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      February 9, 2015 at 10:50 am

      Thanks.

      I’ve made my decision but I’m waiting to implement it before posting (in case I change my mind) but I think I’m certain this time. How close are you to making yours?

       
      • hugoness

        February 9, 2015 at 11:59 am

        I have made mine too. It has not been easy, but what can I tell you that you don´t know already? The good thing is that we can´t go wrong.

         
  2. mbablackgirl

    February 10, 2015 at 12:08 am

    Great advice! Look forward to hearing your decision too. Hugoness is right you CAN’T go wrong!

     
  3. ID

    February 13, 2015 at 9:47 pm

    Kindly advise!
    I planned to study for my MBA in Canada and applied to some schools in the second round but interviews still in progress. My choice of Canada was based on the cheaper tuition rate as I would be solely responsible for sponsoring my MBA and currently do not have so much.
    However, I got some application fee waivers from some US Biz school after my GMAT so I applied to 2 of the schools since I felt there was no harm in trying. I have been accepted into 1 of the schools – Simon Biz Sch with 60% merit scholarship but the 40% is still a large chunk. I am confused at this stage since the deadline for acceptance is almost here.
    Can anyone advise on loan options in the US? And do you think I should wait for my Canadian schools as I believe I would get admitted but not sure about scholarship?
    Just need a neutral person’s advice. Would appreciate your feedbacks.

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      February 13, 2015 at 10:09 pm

      Hi ID,

      Can I ask you this: If you get the same amount of scholarship from the Canadian schools which school will you attend? Also, are you even certain you will get that much from them?

      Talk to Simon, see if you can get an extension on the deadline and/or if you can get a loan without a US co-signer.

      Remember, a bird in hand is worth 2 in the bush. All the best.

       
      • ID

        February 15, 2015 at 12:50 pm

        Thanks for your feedback, I would do that.

         

Add your voice

 
