RSS

My Dilemma

22 Dec

I have a big problem. It’s a good problem but a problem  nonetheless. I can’t decide whether to pursue Sloan’s waitlist or not.
Here’s the issue:

My personality is a great fit with Booth. If I wanted anything but entrepreneurship I’d have dropped Sloan without a backward glance. But Sloan is a great school for budding entrepreneurs like me.

Also, the Chicago entrepreneurship space cannot compare to that of Boston (I may be wrong, please tell me if I am). Granted, there is more competition for the available resources in Boston  but is that enough to get it to the same  level as Chicago?

Therein lies my confusion. I really wish I can figure it out quickly so I can throw myself into the school I choose.

HELP!!!

 
11 Comments

Posted by on December 22, 2014 in Notification

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

11 responses to “My Dilemma

  1. topdogmba

    December 22, 2014 at 2:00 pm

    Hi Naija. In these types of situation I usually try to simplify the decision, that is you have an offer from Booth but no offer from Sloan so, today, you don’t have to decide one over the other, just whether to stay on the waitlist.

    So, what’s the deadline you have to accept Booth and what’s the downside staying on Sloan’s waitlist until then? Most R1 deposits are due end Feb/early Mar so chances are there’ll be some admits then.

    After that I have the same dilemma as you (but with different schools) as visa issues arise and there are diminishing returns on waiting for an admit from Sloan.

    Take a deep breath and think about the above…

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      December 22, 2014 at 4:03 pm

      Thanks. That’s what I’ll do.

      Booth deposit is due before Sloan’s. That tells me I won’t hear from Sloan before I have to pay my deposit at Booth. We’ll see how things unfold.

       
      • topdogmba

        December 22, 2014 at 4:53 pm

        You’re probably right, but still don’t see the downside in hanging on the waitlist, at least until R2 decisions are out (and your odds significantly decrease!).

        Hope you don’t mind my straight-talking. I’ve also been thinking about this a lot! Like you say though, this is a nice problem to have 🙂

         
        • NaijaMBAgal

          December 22, 2014 at 4:57 pm

          I agree with the odds. Thought about it too.

          But I’d rather have this problem than have to figure out where to apply in R2 🙂

           
  2. pullingthatmbatrigger

    December 22, 2014 at 5:53 pm

    I did do some research into Booth, especially with a focus on entrepreneurship and the start up scene in Chicago. I personally know people in the startup scene here (from work and otherwise) and I’ve only heard great things! I’ll give you a more detailed response tomorrow, I’m sure you’ve already considered all of this, but a little more information wouldn’t hurt right? 🙂

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      December 22, 2014 at 5:58 pm

      Thanks. It certainly can’t hurt. And I’ll take as much as I can get.

       
  3. Vandana

    December 23, 2014 at 9:57 am

    I have a similar problem as well and would love to know what you decide. I’m doubtful about the sort of entrepreneurship focus that exists in Chicago too, especially when compared to that of the vibrant and thriving LA startup culture. I’m deciding between Kellogg and UCLA Anderson.

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      December 23, 2014 at 10:10 am

      Will do. Though my case is slightly different. Its an acceptance and a waitlist not too acceptances. I’m kinda holding on to both right now. 🙂

       
    • NaijaMBAgal

      December 25, 2014 at 2:23 pm

      Had a chat with a current first year Student at Booth. She said Booth for entrepreneurs is like being in a well stocked library with no librarian.

      She also said that the Chicago startup scene is doing great and producing stars (something about you having to be a great product to get backing). Also, she said “there’s a shit load of money and only very few people making demands on it”. Chicago is like a small firm compared to Boston or LA, but like small firms, it has no niche and welcomes entrepreneurship in all sectors as well as leaving you with the responsibility to get your own results.

       
  4. Curly

    December 25, 2014 at 12:49 pm

    Naija congrats! My advice to you is take the waitlist and pay the booth deposit! If Sloan says yes and they offer some scholarship than the booth deposit of 1000 usd is negligible! Also try to squeeze some more love out of booth ask for thar scholarship. In the end whether you choose booth or sloan i believe that it will be equally just as good! Follow the money i say! In the end i got waitlisted at chicago but a 50% discount at darden. So even if i would have been accepted at booth with nothing, it would have been difficult to ignore the cash! Let the mba love reflect itself in the money that the schools are willing to invest in you! In the end you are pursuing a career in entrepreneurship you need to be financially flexible after the 2 year rush and not have to pay 2000 usd monthly for those 2 years of love!

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      December 25, 2014 at 2:26 pm

      Thanks. Happy holidays!

      I’m always up for more funding. I’m certain I’ll get some. You’re right, both Booth and Sloan are great schools, I cona’t go wrong with either. 🙂

      Congrats on the admit. Its great not to worry about admissions any more.

       

Add your voice

 
