RSS

Where I am now.

18 Dec

Cloud 9.

Less half.

I had already started a Booth vs Sloan comparison before I received decisions from both schools. Now I have to decide whether I want a spot in Sloan’s waitlist or not. Before Dec 22. Sadly, I wasn’t planning to make that decision this year.

As at yesterday, I was already tilting more towards Booth – personal preferences – but I still have certain things I absolutely loved about Sloan, and some of my blogger friends will be there 🙂 I’ve spoken to a lot of people and have been asked to accept the waitlist spot till I am absolutely certain I would not want to be at Sloan (or till Sloan makes that decision for me). My major challenge is that Sloan has A LOT of people on the waitlist. I’m going to say about 100 and the class size is 400. I probably have the same chances of getting into HBS as I have of getting off Sloan’s waitlist. OK, that was an exaggeration. A big one.

There are two things that can get me off the waitlist: either admitted Africans choose another school and the class has space for another African or/and Sloan doesn’t get better qualified African applicants in round two and they’re stuck with me. But we’ll see how it goes

Another issue is I don’t know that people get admitted off Sloan’s waitlist before round 2 admissions are released which is April 6. That may be too late for me. But I’m going to accept the spot, and make my decision in the first week of next year.

Meanwhile, in cloud 9 ….

Booth, my first love finally reciprocates the love. I’m waiting to see what’s in the offer. As you could probably guess from my post yesterday, I was too excited to hear anything so I don’t know if I got any fellowship but even if I didn’t I’m going to work with admissions to get one :). Now is probably a good time to show them the adjectives on my presentations were actually real. 😀

OK, Boothies (past, current and most recent) please feel free to reach out to me. Let’s get this party started.

For the record my main adjectives are: Determined and Eccentric. And I have them in over abundance.

 
18 Comments

Posted by on December 18, 2014 in Notification

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

18 responses to “Where I am now.

  1. topdogmba

    December 18, 2014 at 11:08 am

    Sound plan NaijaMBA. Don’t forget that there will be a lot of people who would kill to be in your position right now – it’s such a brutal process, so requires a hunter mentality to navigate it!

    I’m waitlisted at Wharton so know what you’re dealing with. Still, not the worst position to be in! Stay strong!

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      December 18, 2014 at 11:12 am

      I know and I’m very happy that its not an outright NO. We’ll see how it plays out but I’m happy with Booth. You accepted Wharton’s wait list spot?

       
      • topdogmba

        December 18, 2014 at 3:58 pm

        Did we actually have to accept anything or just opt out if you didn’t accept? Got me worried now!

         
        • NaijaMBAgal

          December 18, 2014 at 4:04 pm

          Sloan has a yes button and a no button. I figured silence was no. Not sure but had to be safe.

           
  2. kpm17

    December 18, 2014 at 3:47 pm

    I got accepted to Booth as well! So very excited!

     
  3. kpm17

    December 18, 2014 at 5:44 pm

    Hello there! I’ve been following yor blog for a while and would be very excited to meet you if you decide to go with Booth!

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      December 18, 2014 at 7:55 pm

      I think I will. Just have to sort out funding since I didn’t get any fellowship. I was told there’s still a possibility of getting some at a later date. Did you get any?

       
      • kpm17

        December 18, 2014 at 8:18 pm

        In the official email I just received this morning I did not see any mention of it. So I assume I didn’t but is there another place one can check?

         
        • NaijaMBAgal

          December 18, 2014 at 9:39 pm

          I don’t think so. I replied the email to ask. I think they told you if you got one while on the call.

           
  4. Anthonio

    December 18, 2014 at 9:43 pm

    Congrats. . . . Looking forward to when we will ‘hurray’ just like you are doing right now 😉

     
  5. Mo

    December 19, 2014 at 12:53 am

    Congrats dear. So happy for U.

     
  6. My Life of Bliss

    December 19, 2014 at 6:55 am

    Congratulations Naija!! So happy for you 🙂 🙂 😀

     
  7. gnpth

    December 22, 2014 at 12:33 pm

    Hey Congrats :)!! Happy for you!!!

     
  8. Kastino

    December 26, 2014 at 9:52 am

    Congrats Naijambagal! I plan on applying next year, and would like to reach out to you. I presently work in a firm that invests in the Nigerian SME agribusiness space, and also provides consulting services to development partners and agricultural companies seeking to invest in agriculture in Nigeria. I’m in Lagos. Perhaps you can send a PM.

     

Add your voice

 
