RSS

That’s all it really is.

11 Dec

Admission decisions are due next week and like a lot of people, I’m holding my breath. But I feel the need to put this out here. Hopefully, it will help someone put things in perspective.

We are all great people doing something very wonderful with our lives. We have dreams and goals and things we want to do. Going to business school is NOT the goal, it has never being. The process is so consuming that it becomes easy to lose sight of our goal and focus on something else. Business school is a step towards achieving the goal.

My goal is start a business that will feed people, create jobs and change lives. Getting into business school will make it easier for me to get the three things I need to be able to startup. BUT that is not the only way to get them. The soft skills, knowledge, experience and bla bla bla that I need to advance my career/ start my business/ change career paths are all available through other means. Yes, it will be that much more difficult to get them without that blazing MBA degree and all that accompanies it but they can be gotten through other means. These are my thoughts:

My MBA is not my goal, it is a tool of trade. Like the hoe that the farmer takes to the farm, it is not my harvest.

My MBA is not my dream, it is a rung on the ladder I chose, I can jump the rung or pick another ladder.

My MBA does not determine my worth. Neither does it determine the worth of my dreams. If you doubt me ask Jack Ma where he got his MBA from.

I’m not better or worse than those that got in. I am different and as long as I stay true to me, I will go ahead and do things that only I can do.

I’m not underqualified for my dreams, I’m adequately qualified and uniquely differentiated.

I’m not unreasonable in my expectations, I aimed for the sun, missing it, I’ll settle for the moon or the stars or the clouds but I’m still above the treetop.

This is not the end but a bend, the road has taken a turn I did not foresee but I’ll see it to the very end.

This is the start of a great ne journey that will take me places I never dreamed.

This is an amazing time for me to reflect on my true goals and my motivation for pursuing those goals.

My MBA is this easiest way for me to get to my goals but who said life was supposed to be easy?

Today, I am a Nigerian girl with big dreams.

Tomorrow, I will be whatever I want to be.

Nobody WILL stop me. Nobody CAN stop me.

*****

I hope I don’t need to remember this (especially since business school was not my original plan A). But if I do, I will be OK – eventually, after a few days of crying. I may even be better off. And so will you. So chin up 🙂

 
14 Comments

Posted by on December 11, 2014 in Application, Notification

 

Tags: , , , , ,

14 responses to “That’s all it really is.

  1. ProGMAT

    December 11, 2014 at 2:35 pm

    Right! Working for humanity is the best thing to do. And you are born with some luck, that is why you have the chance to get the world’s best education. What ever the result were from here, stay focused to work for your people, your city, your country, and above all for humanity.
    I can’t agree with you more: Whatever, either you get the admission or not, its not the end, its just the beginning. Sky is limitless, just dare to fly. 😉

     
  2. topdogmba

    December 11, 2014 at 2:35 pm

    Nice thoughts and thank you for the perspective! We’re all going to be alright 🙂

    Hang in there!

     
  3. mbablackgirl

    December 11, 2014 at 10:20 pm

    “Business school is a step towards achieving the goal”

    Thank you for this. Sometimes it’s easy to have tunnel vision and only see the application, the essays, the ad com and the school. But like anyone that has achieved their dream asks their self “what next?”
    Great reminder to remember the what next.

     
  4. detayo

    December 12, 2014 at 6:22 pm

    I 100% appreciate those words, they resonate a lot in my current state of mind…All, the best. I am sure it will all be fine..

     
  5. shreyoshi

    December 12, 2014 at 6:52 pm

    Looks like both us have pretty similar dreams… would love to discuss and collaborate with you in your ventures…Regards

     
  6. ImportunateMBA

    December 15, 2014 at 12:05 am

    I always like reading your posts. They are thought provoking and show your determination. Thank you for sharing. Whatever the road looks like I’m sure you’ll have a fantastic adventure along the way.

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      December 15, 2014 at 10:16 am

      Thanks for the kind words. I know you’ll have a fantastic adventure too.

       
  7. My Life of Bliss

    December 15, 2014 at 9:31 am

    “My goal is start a business that will feed people, create jobs and change lives”

    I think I love you even more, not just because you are smart and positive and know what you want to do in life, but also because I wanna do all the same things and your optimism and focus helps me reaffirm my goals as well! Hope you achieve all your dreams and then some!! 🙂

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      December 15, 2014 at 10:21 am

      I think the more we are trying to accomplish this goal, the better the world will be. And I hope you achieve all your dreams beginning from getting that GMAT score 🙂

       

Add your voice

 
