RSS

True Heroes

08 Dec

Hero (n):  a person, who is admired or idealized for courage, outstanding achievements, or noble qualities.

As my application journey gradually comes to a (happy) end, I would like to say a few words about the unspoken and uncelebrated heroes of this process. The people who made my application what it was, gave me invaluable advice, encouraged me to push myself harder and most of all, ensured that I kept sharing my journey regardless of the emotions I was feeling. These people are my new friends, potential classmates and fellow MBA application bloggers 🙂 Bet you didn’t see that coming 😛

When I started this blog, I was scared, frustrated and very lonely (the kind of lonely you get when you have to take a journey alone, you know you want to get the destination and have people waiting for you there just as you have people sending you off from your current location but no one who was actually going through the same journey with you).

Usually, when you talk about friends, you talk about how you met but I can’t tell you how I met these peeps. They just appeared one day and I became part of one of the most amazing communities I never knew existed. I was getting emails, advice even ebooks without asking from people who were going through the same process as myself. It felt like I was in the best business school in the world and if my classmates in business school are as selfless, collaborative and generous as my fellow bloggers, then I’ve scored a perfect 10 on the social aspect of my goal for business school.

From experience, I can tell you that it is way easier to be nice and collaborative when things are going well and according to plan. When you fail (a ding in this case), it is much more difficult to share that with others and still encourage others that are still in the process. But these guys did that, shared their stories of failure and showed their battle scars to all of us.

I’ve been impressed, encouraged, inspired and awed by these people, its only fair to say THANK YOU before the end of the journey. People, please give a standing ovation to these heroes of mine:

P.S: peeps, we have to meet at some point after our admission journeys have ended but before we begin the actual MBA journey.

P.P.S: There are probably some bloggers I’ve missed here, I’m very sorry. I plan to update as soon as I remember :). Also, I’m very proud of my readers 😀

 
10 Comments

Posted by on December 8, 2014 in Application

 

Tags: , , , ,

10 responses to “True Heroes

  1. topdogmba

    December 8, 2014 at 1:22 pm

    Yeah! You said it Naija. Such a great experience to have y’all along for the journey so far.

    I’m in for a blogger pre-matriculation world tour! 😉

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      December 10, 2014 at 8:34 am

      We can start planning after round 2 blogger applicants have their admissions 🙂

       
  2. ProGMAT

    December 8, 2014 at 3:15 pm

    Ahaaa!! Your progress gives us the path to success. Always keep updating. Because you have followers and now you are responsible for their success too. That’s a great idea to have a get together. I think we should make a Facebook group of our own, leaving behind our anonymous names of these blogs. 😉

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      December 10, 2014 at 8:35 am

      I agree, though I’m also fairly anonymous on FB 😀 I use pseudonyms a lot.

       
  3. Vandana

    December 9, 2014 at 2:16 am

    Thanks for the shoutout, Naija! Your blog has been an inspiration for me to keep writing, and your attitude through the entire admissions process – you are a true rockstar! 🙂 We should definitely do a pre-MBA blogger meet up! Good luck with Sloan and Booth – I’m sure you’ll have a tough decision to make in the upcoming weeks about where to attend.

     
  4. pullingthatmbatrigger

    December 9, 2014 at 5:49 am

    You so perfectly articulated what I feel about the community. I don’t know what I would have done without you guys. Naija, your attitude in particular has really inspired me. I absolutely love your confidence and I’ve been trying to emulate that during my own journey. I think you will be a great fit at both Sloan and Booth, and I can’t wait to hear the good news that is sure to come.

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      December 10, 2014 at 8:38 am

      *hugs* You’re doing great yourself. I enjoy following your journey.

       
  5. My Life of Bliss

    December 15, 2014 at 10:15 am

    You are my hero! 🙂 You all are! A month ago, I had no one to talk to about what I was going through.. and now, I find myself surrounded by so many amazing people who are encouraging me to go for the dream! 🙂 Thank you for this amazing post Naija!

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      December 15, 2014 at 10:19 am

      Thanks. I’m happy to be helpful however I can. 🙂

       

Add your voice

 
