RSS

Stanford interview debrief

05 Dec

I did not get invited to interview with Stanford (their loss. Yes I know they will get a lot of well qualified and great students who will do them proud. But, I’m the only person that knows what I have to offer), but I have a friend that did and this is a summary of how her interview went:

Interviewer was very warm and clear about what he was looking for before we started. He asked the usual questions …
Getting to know me:
Tell me about you journey at [Company] and how you feel about it.
Your career prospects at [Company] seem bright, why leave now? Why MBA
Since you are interested in finance, an MBA at Harvard or Wharton would have been the most obvious option – Why Stanford?
After the MBA, what are your plans? Is it with [Company]? Will you return to Africa?

Soft questions:
Tell me about a time you had to work with a difficult person
Tell me about a time you had to take on  a role that was not defined for you in order to help a team to achieve results
Tell me about a time you took on an opportunity that others did not see
Tell me about a time you had an objective to achieve and you were blocked from achieving it

Then she asked her own questions.

Hope to hear good news from her soon 🙂

 
3 Comments

Posted by on December 5, 2014 in Interview

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Stanford interview debrief

  1. Ergen

    December 5, 2014 at 12:00 pm

    It would be very interesting to hear her answer to the question : why stanford for finance?

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      December 5, 2014 at 12:02 pm

      Maybe she’ll answer it. On the comments we’ll see. 🙂

       

Add your voice

 
