RSS

My Sloan interview debrief

04 Dec

So I had my long-awaited Sloan interview less than two days ago and it went well, very well but not excellently which is probably why I have not come to update everyone n how it went. My major issue is realizing after the interview that all the questions had a similar theme (teamwork) and knowing that I did not notice that while the interview was going on. Also, I know I used the STAR and PAR method and that I showed my thought process in some answers. It’s just that my clearadmit interview guide encouraged showing how you felt in your answers and I don’t think I did that which makes me feel disappointed.

I’m going to give as much details of the interview as I can without completely giving myself out to any member of the Sloan adcom that stumbles across this blog since my interview and a few things around it were too unique to have happened to two people in one day. It did occur to me at some point that I may be the only Nigerian interviewing from Nigeria which would ruin my chances at anonymity with the adcom if they see this blog but they probably don’t have time to read applicant blogs anyway.

The setting: For some reason, my team members all decided to work late on the day of my interview which meant that they heard every word of my response to the questions (it was weird because I was describing them in some of the answer. but they all thought I did great). For others interviewing by Skype, give your team the night out so that you can have the project office to yourself while interviewing.

The questions:

  • What has changed since you submitted your application
  • Tell me about a time you had a different opinion from your team
  • Tell me about a time you could not reach a compromise
  • Describe the best team you’ve worked with
  • Tell me about a time you had a team member that wasn’t pulling his weight
  • Tell me about a time you failed
  • Why do yu want an MBA
  • Why Sloan
  • Any questions for me

I think I felt bad that I wasn’t asked if I applied to any other school, like am I competitive enough? *rolls eye* I just can’t be satisfied. the interview lasted about 30 minutes.

One thing I’ve gotta give to Sloan interviewers, they know how to keep their thoughts out of their face. I don’t know if I impressed her or not. Fingers crossed, 17th should be here soon enough.

P.S: I think Sloan is my new favorite school. Though Booth is still my first love. 😀

P.P.S: I have a Stanford interview debrief from a friend and I’ll share that soon. And Thanks to topdogmba for all the encouragement *hugs*

 
11 Comments

Posted by on December 4, 2014 in Interview

 

Tags: , , , , ,

11 responses to “My Sloan interview debrief

  1. Ergen

    December 4, 2014 at 9:43 am

    Be careful)) Each of us can be a suspect:)

     
  2. John Thunder

    December 4, 2014 at 1:23 pm

    No one asked me which schools I applied to. Should I be worried?

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      December 4, 2014 at 2:33 pm

      I’m not sure worrying solves anything. I’m not worried about it, it was just a question I looked forward to so I can use it to emphasize why I wanted Sloan.

       
  3. topdogmba

    December 4, 2014 at 2:32 pm

    Hey! Thanks for the hugs and I’m happy to help any time. By pure probability, at least one of us should get an admit at Sloan! 🙂

    I had the same poker face interviewer. These are professionals and know how to get the information they want. Don’t read anything into the lack of a reaction.

    Fingers crossed for you (us)!

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      December 4, 2014 at 2:33 pm

      Yea. We both should. Fingers crossed.

       
  4. Mo

    December 5, 2014 at 9:24 am

    Good to know it went well. We’ll get good news soon.

     
  5. ImportunateMBA

    December 5, 2014 at 3:37 pm

    I’m sure they assume everyone is applying to multiple schools. . .especially people who are applying to programs like Sloan. Don’t let that get you down. Thanks for sharing your experience and all the best!

     

Add your voice

 
