RSS

Plan A

26 Nov

According to the initial plan, I was supposed to get into Stanford and any other school then choose Stanford. But that is not going to happen so here’s the revised version: Get into Sloan and Booth, make the decision when time comes. There’s nothing more I can do about my Booth application (other than pray and hope) but I have one week before my Sloan interview and I plan to nail it.

I’m putting in a minimum of 2 hours of preparation daily until the interview day. I intend to prepare for all the questions in clearadmit’s Sloan interview guide. Since Sloan interview is mostly Behavioural, I’m working on my STAR (Situation, Task, Action and Result) technique for learning, growth and other positive experience questions. For setbacks (I don’t plan to tell them about the Stanford setback 😉 ) and weaknesses, I’ll be using the PAR technique (Problem, Action, Results).

So far, I;m coming up with situations that are different from what I submitted in the application which is tough ‘cos I put my most lofty accomplishments in the application. Had to get their attention somehow. Also, I’m studying my application like I have an examination on it which I technically do.

I also have to catch up on work since my performance at work for the last two days have been sub-optimal. I plan to take a vacation in the last week of this year so I gotta get cracking so that can round-up this project. Also I intend to have my first exhibition in January 2015 so I have about 7 photo shoots to plan (and countless hours of editing).

To all those that got the stanford invite (Fiona et al), all the best, you’ve gotta get in ‘cos I have to have at least one friend in that class.

So do I have my confidence back? You betcha. My sister said “quit trying to get depressed, you have more backup plans than an average household of overachievers. What do you even need business school for?” More on that when I tell you about my plan B 🙂 I think it will be extremely different from what you expect.

And before I forget, an American friend of mine has asked me to spread the word on “Brown Friday”, the movement to boycott Black Friday in protest of the (ruling on?) Micheal Brown’s death. I’m not American and I currently am not leaving there and going by what obtains in my country I don’t think this will work but I’m not shopping on Black Friday mostly due to currency devaluation which has made everything infinitely more expensive. Including Business School.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on November 26, 2014 in Interview

 

Tags: , , , , ,

5 responses to “Plan A

  1. Curly

    November 27, 2014 at 12:26 am

    Naija, I’ve been reading your blog for a while now and I really appreciate your enthusiasm. As an applicant for class of 2017 myself let me share some thoughts on my experience. I’ve applied to exactly 13 top-schools by now and it has been exhausting as you can imagine I am working like everybody else. And when I say top its essentialy the ones willing to loan internationals without cosigner. If the school is good and confident enough it will offer this opportunity, if not it’s a waste of time. Like yourself I am an “international”, eastern europe Romania to be more precise. As much as I like to believe that I am unique and that every tear and sweat In the application and essays matters in your applications, the harsh truth is that I am a statistic, fighting within my quota (emerging countries/women) to get in. The truth is that I’ve tested several approaches in my apps and none of them make sense. Some schools dinged me others invited me for interview. After 5 interviews and 4 dings I can honestly say that the quality of interviewing ranges from small talk to heavy stuff all of it depending on the mood if the interviewer. Even at Chicago I had a very tough behavioural interview at an event with an aluminus while others were doing small talk. If it was that important adcon will not leave it to random alumni. Of course if you are an epic fail or just fail it might influence. If you’re ok then effect might be zero. And of course being just brilliant is highly unprobable for people with 3-7 years experience because simply put you haven’t been theough enough to be fully rounded and own yourself at that level. If you would you’d probably not be applying for the mba to begin with. I truly think that in the event that you don’t suck at your intetview your faith had already been set before the interview. Otherwise it wouldn t be such a broad interpretation of the way to conduct that interview. You have to stop believing the romantic stories of adcoms and see yourself as a statistic within your quota. Besides being an international and a woman is there anything else about your professional experience uptill now that makes you an outlier. Really consulting in Nigeria is kinda the same like in Romania, child’s play for them becauase the budgets are low in these kind of countries and even big companies invest limited amounts. So project experience is limited compared to other countries heavy spenders. I am not trying to put you down but you’re a smart girl so figuring out a plan b if you really want your mba is essential. Don’t get sad you didn’t get into stanford, the applicant pool may have been tougher than you can imagine with little geniouses in math, quantics or you name it conpeting in your quota. Don’t fool yourself, you are a “personality” for your friends not for business schools. They are out to get best on market based on their applicant poool so they can reproduce their prestige. If tier 1 schools are saying no to you renember you have great tier 2 programs which would love to have you. Really from Nigeria to mba in the States is a looong way and in terms of your career a school like Duke for example might be almost that much decisive. Over preparing for an interview i believe it’s a waste of resources. Better think statistically what if none of sloan and chicago say yes and prepare for that. I hope that you won’t have to do that and that i’ll see you next year at chicago 😀 but take my advice after 5 interviews it’s not brain science they are just checking to see whether you are a reasonable marketable person. That’s it, in my opinion! Best of luck and keep an open mind on statistics regardless of what consultants say in order to milk you. I got mu chicago interview after refurbishing a harvard essay and spending about 5 hours on the app!

     
    • RoadToMyMBA

      November 27, 2014 at 6:14 am

      Wow

       
    • NaijaMBAgal

      November 27, 2014 at 9:35 am

      Hi Curly,

      I totally agree with you. And my plan B does not involve B-School. I know we’re a statistic, its pretty obvious. I asked several b-school officials why there was no one with a Nigerian undergrad and Nigerian experience in their alumni and tey said it was because they didn’t receive quality applications from that pool. Pretty funny because they were at an event with alost 500 highly qualified applicants in that pool. Anyway, I hope I get in but its not the end of the world if I don’t. I still plan to pursue my goal, it’ll only just take a bit longer. About the interviews, I think the only school that I can honestly say that the interview matters to will be Sloan because theirs is only conducted by adcom. Also someone told me that most schools already have “HOT” candidates that they want to offer admission and then others tha they just wanna test out by the time interview invites are sent. I just wish they’d tell us so we know which ones are a waste of time and which are not. Anyway, good luck. I hope to see you at Booth next year. Thanks for reading my blog. 🙂

       
  2. mbablackgirl

    November 27, 2014 at 1:09 am

    Good to hear about you bouncing back. Pele about the Stanford result but press on towards Sloan and smash it!

     

Add your voice

 
