RSS

In case you were wondering…

21 Nov

I am still waiting for my invitation to interview at Stanford GSB. Yes, I’m aware that it’s just two days to go till the window closes but you’re talking to the lady who got her Booth invite on the last day and her Sloan invite on the day before the last. I’m not giving up hope! I can’t!In my mind, I’m a member of Stanford MBA class of 2017, have been since August 1, 2014 and I don’t foresee any changes to that.

I’m currently preparing for my Stanford and Sloan interview (yes I know I haven’t received the invite, I’m not loony, but preparing for the interview is a better use of my time than worrying about when my invite will get here). I think my preparations are more detailed than my preparations for Booth, mostly because, I’m building on the answers I had planned for Booth and because I have more help this time.

I’m also shopping for my admission gifts (I always reward myself for a good job, any good job), I’ve identified what I want, and I’ll be purchasing them in advance at some point next week.

I know about four African applicants to the GSB (counting myself) and all of us are still waiting to hear from them. I think it’s too small a population to conclude on especially considering all the finalists for the African fellowship (which I didn’t apply for) applied in this round.

*sigh* permutation and combination are not my strong point.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on November 21, 2014 in Interview, Notification

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

12 responses to “In case you were wondering…

  1. topdogmba

    November 21, 2014 at 7:49 am

    Good luck with your invite from GSB. As long as you don’t let it eat into your other interview prep time, I agree it is worth preparing for Stanford too.

    Just remember: when you’re in the Sloan interview, this is the number one school you want to go to! They may well ask where else you’re applying and you don’t want to give the impression they’re second choice.

    I’m sure you’re going to have a great interview with Sloan in any event. They have a great format and process …and only four weeks to wait for your offer! 🙂

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      November 21, 2014 at 7:52 am

      Thanks for the reminder. Every school is number one at their interview.

      After my Sloan interview, I’ll have only two weeks to wait. How do yours go?

       
      • topdogmba

        November 21, 2014 at 6:42 pm

        You’ll have to wait for my interview report to see! 🙂

        In general though, I think they went very well, quite conversational, no major surprises but just need to communicate your greatest hits and key attributes clearly.

        Not so easy to do with Sloan as they set the agenda with the behavioural questions, but still possible if you’re prepared.

        I’m sure you’ll do great!!

         
        • NaijaMBAgal

          November 21, 2014 at 6:48 pm

          I’m sure you did well. I’ll wait for the report and the certain good news to follow. 🙂

           
  2. Vandana

    November 21, 2014 at 9:38 am

    Sending a whole lot of positive vibes your way. 🙂 Hope you get that invite soon! Good luck!

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      November 21, 2014 at 9:48 am

      Thanks, I’ll take all the positive vibes I can get

       
  3. Clau

    November 21, 2014 at 1:01 pm

    Hi Naijagirl, a Cameroonian speaking here. Just discovered your blog, very happy to read it 🙂

    Sorry about your Wharton ding, but then again, you are still up for Sloan, Booth, and Stanford GSB. With that much dedication and faith, I don’t see what could go wrong, whatever MBA you end up getting into.

    Good luck, and maybe we’ll see each other in the US or elsewhere. Any idea on where you think about working right after your MBA?

    CK.

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      November 21, 2014 at 3:41 pm

      Thanks. I have an idea of where I want to work but 2017 is a long time and a lot can change within that time. Are you an applicant?

       
      • Clau

        November 21, 2014 at 10:54 pm

        Yes, for the round 1 I have only applied to the Lauder Program and got the chance to be interviewed 🙂 waiting for the decision now.

        I wish I had started a blog two years ago while starting my preparation. It does help oneself and others a lot, and I think it will be a lot of fun to you, looking at it 5 or ten years from now 🙂

        You are right, we never know what can happen in to years. Anyway, I will be following you closely. Again, best of luck 🙂

         
        • NaijaMBAgal

          November 22, 2014 at 8:14 am

          Thank you and all the best with Wharton

           
  4. My Life of Bliss

    November 22, 2014 at 2:26 am

    I love the “preparing for Stanford Interview” part.. 🙂 The optimism will definitely pay off!
    Nail the Sloan interview!

     

Add your voice

 
