RSS

While waiting…

13 Nov

As all my good friends know, patience is not one of my strong points. And Stanford is stretching beyond what I thought was my capacity but I am handling it just fine. Sort of. There are three things occupying most of my thoughts at this time:

1. Preparing for my interview with Sloan. I gotta say, I’m about halfway between being scared shitless and being confident about the interview. So I reached out to a couple of Sloan students and got a few tips including the almost cliché – Just be yourself (which I plan to be particularly as I have no idea what kind of person they are looking for in the class mix). I’ve also watched a couple of videos from admissions consultants and I’ve registered for Accepted.com’s webminar (which I’ve also been asked to share with other applicants). Here’s the details in Accepted’s  words:

“And thou shall ace thy MBA interview…” 

MBA interviews come in a variety of packages – blind, non-blind, traditional, team-based, case, Skype, phone, on-campus, by invitation, open…and the list goes on and on. Are you ready to take on this next challenge in the MBA admissions process?

 Accepted.com would like to help you prep for your MBA interview when you attend their webinar, The 10 Commandments of MBA Interviews, on Thursday, November 13, 2014 at 10:00 AM PT / 1:00 PM ET. During the webinar, former MBA admissions dean and directorand Accepted senior consultant, Natalie Grinblatt Epstein, will walk you through the 10 most important interview tips (or commandments) – follow these tips and thou shall certainly ace thy interview! 

Spaces are limited, so reserve your spot for The 10 Commandments of MBA Interviews right now!

Before I move on, I’d like to say that I’m spreading the word not just because I’ve been asked to but because I registered for the event to help myself prepare for my interview and I know there are a couple of people also preparing for their interview who may benefit from the information being shared in the webinar (hopefully).

2. Working myself to the bone. And this is not just because I’m an excellent consultant – which I am, but also because it’s keeping me too tired to worry about when my Stanford invite will get to me which hopefully will be soon. I’m working close to 80 hours every week and this doesn’t include the time spent in the notorious Lagos traffic. I hope I don’t burn out soon, meanwhile I’m looking forward to my end-of-year vacation which will be my first vacation as a business school admit. 😀

3. Praying/Hoping/Worrying/Praying for Stanford to send me an invite before I loose my mind! If that made any sense to you, you are probably in my situation or something similar. A part of me is very confident of getting into Stanford but another part of me is very worried, fidgety and nervous about the process. I should have heard something by now!!! OK, I’m not going to panic but y’all can join me in praying & hoping. I think I already do enough of the worrying.

While we are on the subject, does anyone know any Africans that have received a Stanford invite? Also, any Sloan interviewee/student/alumnus care to share their preparation tips/ interview experience?

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 13, 2014 in Application, Interview

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Add your voice

 
