RSS

I had an amazing interview with Booth!!!

05 Nov

And I am super busy at work trying to make up for the three hours I took off work yesterday.  But it is totally worth it.

The interview was supposed to start by 2pm, my interviewer and I had agreed to meet at a restaurant half way between our offices. About, one hour to the time, we had to reschedule for a slightly later time but that wasn’t an issue.


I spent the hour before the interview going over my answers to the questions I had picked for practice.  I’m ashamed to say this but I really hadn’t done so much preparation beyond just having a list of questions. I got to the venue about 10 minutes before the scheduled time and waited for my interviewer who was a few minutes late. He was profusely sorry for that (very different from my interviewer last year).

He was quick to tell me that it was more of a chat than an interview and that he wasn’t expected to endorse or criticize my candidacy but to give a qualitative feedback on our conversation. The interview started with him sharing his background which relaxed me considerably. I noticed that the similarities in our background even before he pointed them out. We quickly moved into the interview proper with a version of the “why Booth” question. He wasn’t convinced with my answer (I noticed we kept getting back to the question in the discussion till I had given every thing I knew about Booth in my answer) but he seemed happy with that eventually.

“Why entrepreneurship” is another question that took a long time for us to tackle mostly because he thought entrepreneurship was hard and that it required a lot of passion which admittedly I had but I had to go to the root of that interest, the starting poit before he was satisfied with my answer.  All the other questions were a breeze.  At several points during the interview I felt a bit panicked, almost like I scared to miss the answer or like I just gave a wrong answer but they weren’t so many.

The interview really was more of a chat. I didn’t use my prepared answers,  I used the essence of the answer the questions but they didn’t come out in the same manner. I felt more connection to the interviewer than the first time. I walked out of the interview happy (the doubts came later), which I hope is a good sign.

Now, I am back in the expectation mode: waiting for Booth decision,  waiting for interview invites from Stanford and Sloan. I’ll have good news to share soon. 

Congrats and good luck to everyone currently interviewing and a big thank you to everyone that sent me emails and goodwill  messages. I hope to reply all the emails soon.

P.S: this is my first post that’s entirely composed and posted from a mobile phone.  🙂

 
24 Comments

Posted by on November 5, 2014 in Interview

 

Tags: , , , , ,

24 responses to “I had an amazing interview with Booth!!!

  1. ProGMAT

    November 5, 2014 at 1:25 pm

    Looks like you are going pro. Post through mobile. Haan. 😉
    Its great that the interview was more conversational, as that brings the extra you out through answers. Hope for the best!! Good Luck for the remaining. 🙂

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      November 5, 2014 at 3:27 pm

      Thanks, I’m glad it was that way

       
  2. Ergen

    November 5, 2014 at 1:34 pm

    Will look forward to hearing the good news)

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      November 5, 2014 at 3:28 pm

      Thanks, as will I.

      Have you scheduled your GMAT?

       
      • Ergen

        November 5, 2014 at 3:38 pm

        Not yet. I will admit after your admit))

         
        • Ergen

          November 5, 2014 at 3:39 pm

          sorry I will schedule after your admit)

           
          • NaijaMBAgal

            November 5, 2014 at 3:42 pm

            Ok. Get ready to write it in December 🙂

             
            • Ergen

              November 5, 2014 at 3:45 pm

              lol)) dont forget to remind me then))

               
  3. Mo

    November 5, 2014 at 1:42 pm

    Great, was just about to send you a mail to ask how it went. Glad u aced it, i’m sure the result will prove you did. On to the next.

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      November 5, 2014 at 3:28 pm

      Thanks. Waiting expectantly for them.

       
  4. mbablackgirl

    November 5, 2014 at 3:28 pm

    It sounds like it went amazingly! So much more reassuring I’m sure when you have a rapport with your interviewer I’m sure he will provide excellent feedback to Booth too.

    More good news to come I’m sure! x

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      November 5, 2014 at 3:31 pm

      Thanks. It certainly feels better. Hope to share the good news when it comes in.

       
  5. Still Pressing

    November 5, 2014 at 9:48 pm

    Awesome! I hope we get in!

     
  6. pullingthatmbatrigger

    November 6, 2014 at 10:05 am

    You are a SHOO IN! I know it!

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      November 6, 2014 at 6:15 pm

      Thanks, lets hope Booth adcom knows that too

       
  7. MBA on my mind

    November 6, 2014 at 12:47 pm

    Wow! Oh! Wow! Such good news all around!! 😀 So glad you had a fantastic interview with booth! Waiting for the admit!!
    wooohooo!

     
  8. ImportunateMBA

    November 6, 2014 at 1:56 pm

    So glad to hear it went well. Now I’m waiting for that post where you say you got the admit.

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      November 6, 2014 at 6:16 pm

      And I’m getting ready to compose it. 🙂

       
  9. mbcreativedirector

    November 10, 2014 at 5:54 pm

    Congratulations on a great interview and good luck in the near future! Thank you for sharing your story!

     

Add your voice

 
