RSS

Bad News from Wharton

31 Oct

So, I woke up from the flu I was nursing to find out I got a ding from Wharton. That was a shocker, I was fairly certain I would get in.

On to Booth interview prep and waiting for Stanford + Sloan. I’ll update this post tomorrow.

UPDATE:

I’m feeling better this morning (with respect to the flu and the ding). A ding from Wharton was hard to swallow because I thought my application was perfect. I guess it goes to show that the adcom doesn’t always agree with us applicants.

My major reason for not feeling bad about the ding (apart from the fact that I need to move on and keep my positivity) is that I presented myself and my goals on the application, there’s nothing I would change on it even if I knew that this would be the decision before submitting. I take solace in that fact. And despite my belief to the contrary, the adcom probably knows that Wharton would not be useful to me in achieving my goals so I accept their decision. I’ve decided to move on to preparing for my Booth interview and eagerly waiting for interview invites from my other two schools: Stanford and Sloan.

To those that received invites (such as my good friend: topdopgMBA); all the best in the TBD and hope you get in. To others like me: there’s light at the end of this tunnel. Keep believing in yourself and keep striving towards that goal.

 
24 Comments

Posted by on October 31, 2014 in Notification

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

24 responses to “Bad News from Wharton

  1. Ellie

    October 31, 2014 at 10:38 pm

    Ugh…sorry to hear that! I am nursingn a flu too here ..Hope you feel better and have great news to look forward to!
    *hugs*

     
  2. GrantMeAdmission

    October 31, 2014 at 10:57 pm

    Me too :/

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      November 1, 2014 at 5:54 am

      Sorry about that. Don’t feel too bad about it. Something good will come out of this journey for you. And for me too.

       
  3. pullingthatmbatrigger

    November 1, 2014 at 6:04 am

    Oh man. I know how much this burns, not a good feeling at all. Just try not to think about it and eventually it should just sink in. That’s what worked for me. You are still an amazing candidate so try not to let Wharton’s decision influence the rest of your apps. A huge hug and my very best wishes to you. You are one of the most capable people I know and I really think you’re going to get to a place that you deserve.

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      November 1, 2014 at 6:26 am

      Thank you. That’s really nice to hear. I’m glad you’re moving on in the journey. It gives me more hope that I can do same.

       
  4. mylifeofbliss1

    November 1, 2014 at 6:46 am

    I’m really sorry to hear that. Although I’ve only just started my application journey, I can understand how difficult it is to not get something. But on the bright side, your plans of being an entrepreneur will fit perfectly with Booth or Sloan or Stanford. 🙂 Good luck for the interview! Better things are yet to come.

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      November 1, 2014 at 6:50 am

      Thanks, I’m beginning to agree. 🙂

       
  5. topdogmba

    November 1, 2014 at 8:31 am

    Glad you’re feeling better today! Thanks for the well wishes (as you know, I’ve been in your shoes not long ago too!) and keep your eyes on the prize, i.e. Booth, Sloan and Stanford.

    Will be checking in on your regularly to see how you’re doing 😉

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      November 1, 2014 at 8:33 am

      Will definitely do that. Thanks 🙂

       
  6. ImportunateMBA

    November 1, 2014 at 1:14 pm

    I’m sorry to hear about Wharton. But I really appreciate your positive attitude and focus to move on. That’s great that you know you wouldn’t have changed anything on your application. Like you said, you presented what you wanted. If Wharton wouldn’t help you get there then it wouldn’t be a good place to go. Good luck with Booth and Sloan!

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      November 1, 2014 at 1:57 pm

      Thanks, I have to remain positive for the remaining schools. Hopefully, Stanford will show me good love.

       
  7. scltn

    November 1, 2014 at 1:18 pm

    Naija, Grant, we are all in the same bucket I see.. I was a re-applicant too! Hope the other schools we apply to have better news for us!!

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      November 1, 2014 at 2:16 pm

      I’m sure they will. All the best to all of us.

       
  8. MBA on my mind

    November 1, 2014 at 5:46 pm

    Hey NaijaMBAgal! I sorry about the ding. Hope you feeling better? I really love that you say there is nothing you’d change on your app. It shows great maturity! After all, you want to go to a school that will help you achieve YOUR goals, and nobody else’s. All the best with the booth interview, from what you’ve described, Booth is your place! You will get in! 🙂

     
  9. OnaMission

    November 2, 2014 at 9:44 pm

    Hey NaijaMBAgal, so sorry to hear about that. I am also just starting out the application process so can only imagine the feeling – don’t let this put you down, stay positive as there are other schools to look forward to! Good luck with Booth, Sloan and GSB.

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      November 3, 2014 at 4:14 am

      Thanks for the encouragement and good luck on your journey. Happy to help if you think I can.

       
  10. abbeydot

    November 3, 2014 at 1:36 am

    Omo Naija…Sorry to hear this. But I like your positive outlook on this. Best wishes on the other options.

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      November 3, 2014 at 4:15 am

      Thanks a lot. I’m taking all the goodwill I can get.

       
  11. texaswannabecali

    November 4, 2014 at 2:42 am

    Best of luck with your Booth interview!! Wharton missed out!

     
  12. Koodzi Africa 시대 (@Koodzi)

    November 10, 2014 at 9:35 am

    Good luck with the rest of your interviews. I hope you get Stanford as well. If you do, this is a video I did at the GSB with current students giving interview tips:

    Enjoy 🙂

     

Add your voice

 
