RSS

Return of the little red book and change of name ;)

27 Oct

My little red book of ideas is back!!! As you probably know (if you’ve followed my story from the begining, you already know), I got to the interview stage with Booth i round 3 of the applications for the class of 2016. Affter that, things went south 🙂 So I am intent on preventing a reoccurrence of that event. My approach last year was to prepare a bit but not so much that I sound rehearsed at the interview and I think I may have stumbled over a few questions. This year I’ll be trying a different approach.

This year, I have started documenting/ tracking the answers to all questions that I can be asked during the interview. I know it is impossible to know the universe of questions I will be asked but there are some questions that have to be asked. I’m compiling different approaches to answerig those questions as well as any other one I find on the internet during my preparation.

My aim is to do a large portion of the talking that will be done during that interview. I read somewhere that an intrviewee should aim to do 80% of the talking in a one-to-one interview or any intervie with only one interviewee. Of course the story is different for group interviews (cue: Wharton). Therefore, I am making sure that my answer prompts my interviewer to ask another particular question which will put me in the driving position for the interview and relax me enough to talk about myself for longer periods at a time. That said, I am taking a cue from oher applicants by recording my interview preparations and watching them to see how I am doing. I will practice at least once daily till about 2 days to the interview when I will only review my answers randomly.

Part of my goal for the Booth interview is to show how I’ve developed personally from my last application. I want to show that confidence in myself, my abilities and my plans, to show my new and better understanding of the Booth culture and to demonstrate my fit with the school. I hope to nail it this time.

Meanwhile, I’m changing my name (not my blog identity or pseudonym but my actual name). Its so amazing how good it feels to pursue a plan once you’ve made a decision.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on October 27, 2014 in Interview

 

Tags: , , , , ,

12 responses to “Return of the little red book and change of name ;)

  1. topdogmba

    October 27, 2014 at 7:15 pm

    Best of luck with the interview prep. I’m sure you’re gonna do GREAT!
    I’m also taking a different approach – lots of mocks with tough feedback! Surprising how nervous I get (I conduct a lot of interviews at work).
    What I’ve found most helpful is to strip out just three or four stories that I can tell in response to pretty much any question. I’ve just practised different “paths” to those stories which has made me really confident I can deliver. This tactic works well for alumni or blind interviewers, i.e. with someone who’s not read your application. Will use a different tactic again if (when!) I get invites from Wharton ands MIT Sloan.
    Anyway, just meant to say GOOD LUCK!!

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      October 27, 2014 at 7:53 pm

      Thanks for the tips. I’ll start working on my stories today.

       
  2. gidimbagurl

    October 27, 2014 at 7:50 pm

    am I reading too much in guessing that you got married? If so, congratulations!

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      October 27, 2014 at 8:05 pm

      Lol. You are. Just making a small change to the substance of the name. Something that I’ve always wanted to do

       
  3. ImportunateMBA

    October 28, 2014 at 12:36 am

    Good luck showing Booth how you have developed over the last year. I’m sure you are going to be fantastic.

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      October 28, 2014 at 4:44 am

      Thanks, I plan to be. It helps to have all this support and well wishes

       
  4. pullingthatmbatrigger

    October 28, 2014 at 6:13 am

    Change of name? Sounds mysterious 😀 That sounds like a super comprehensive way of preparing (I didn’t do any of it, and it hindsight I should have!), but you will be sure to knock Booth’s socks off.

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      October 28, 2014 at 2:09 pm

      Thanks, I’m pulling questions from your interview debrief post into my preparatory questions

       
  5. Mo

    October 28, 2014 at 9:05 am

    Well done dear, i’m sure you’ll nail it this time. All the best.

     

Add your voice

 
