RSS

Rain! Finally!! – From Booth with Love

24 Oct

Do you know how it feels to receive an invite on the last day of the the mid-decision week?

All the scenarios that your mind will dream of and discard? How many mini heart attacks? The tears, the words, the joy, the pain and the hopelessness of it all? Going into the last day of interview invites from Booth, I was at that point where I really wanted it all to end. I was still holding on to a tiny smudge of hope and struggling to encourage myself (which is why I am writing this post by 9:30am WAT (UTC+1) – a long time before the final invites are released). I stopped checking gmatclub forum earlier this week because my heart could not handle all the excitement.

As the day progressed, I continued to lose hope and started hoping for at least a waitlist. Anything was better than a ding.

It is 11:00pm WAT and I just got my Booth invite. Last minute. I guess it pays to keep hoping. I’m sooooooo happy. I was beginning to look for more schools to apply to because I felt my Booth application had a piece of me on it and getting dinged without an interview would have caused a serious dent in my morale.

UPDATE: I’ll be interviewing off campus in my home city (Lagos, Nigeria). I’m waiting for Booth to contact me with the details of the alum that will me conducting the interview. I’m trying to decide how I feel about interviewing in Lagosagain and most importantly, trying to figure out the chances of getting the same alum who did my intial interview. We’ll see, Booth will be in contact before Tuesday so fingers crossed.

 
22 Comments

Posted by on October 24, 2014 in Application, Notification

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

22 responses to “Rain! Finally!! – From Booth with Love

  1. topdogmba

    October 25, 2014 at 3:38 am

    Hurrah! Enjoy the feeling and well done! When is your interview? 🙂

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      October 25, 2014 at 6:47 am

      Thanks. I’ve not yet scheduled it.

       
  2. Ergen

    October 25, 2014 at 5:02 am

    Congratulations)))) You deserved it. Time to party))

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      October 25, 2014 at 6:48 am

      Thanks. Though it’s time to prepare for the interview. Party after 😀

       
  3. pullingthatmbatrigger

    October 25, 2014 at 5:22 am

    Awesome news! Congratulations 😀

     
  4. GrantMeAdmission

    October 25, 2014 at 12:23 pm

    I told you good things would happen!

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      October 25, 2014 at 12:26 pm

      You did. And I’m happy you’re right.

       
      • GrantMeAdmission

        October 25, 2014 at 12:27 pm

        It’s an easy task to bet on a sure winner!

         
        • NaijaMBAgal

          October 25, 2014 at 12:28 pm

          That’s such a nice thing to say. Thank you.

           
  5. Gidimbagurl

    October 25, 2014 at 12:50 pm

    As a fellow Lagosian who is also applying (R2), can I just say CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!! I saw your status and my heart leapt! How strong is the Booth alumni in lagos? I haven’t met many people so I hope you don’t get the same person (had a bit of an attitude if I remember correctly?). Good luck, good luck! and here is wishing you more invites

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      October 25, 2014 at 1:13 pm

      Thanks dear. I’ve met very few of them hence the fear. I think I can handle her better. Have you taken your GMAT?

       
      • gidimbagurl

        October 26, 2014 at 2:53 pm

        next week!!! At this point, I just want this to be behind me so I can have a clearer picture of where I stand.

         
        • NaijaMBAgal

          October 26, 2014 at 3:02 pm

          All the best. I hope you get your target score or something higher. Do let me know how it goes.

           
  6. texaswannabecali

    October 26, 2014 at 3:10 am

    YAY!! Good luck on the interview

     
  7. ImportunateMBA

    October 27, 2014 at 12:52 am

    Fantastic job, congratulations! Best of luck to you in your interview.

     
  8. ProGMAT

    October 27, 2014 at 5:40 am

    Woha! Congratulations!! Best of luck for interview. 😀

     
  9. Vandana

    October 28, 2014 at 3:25 am

    It must feel great! Congratulations, and good luck for the interview! I’m looking forward to reading how that goes too!
    (I hope you can tell from the number of exclamations how happy I am for you :D)

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      October 28, 2014 at 4:45 am

      😀 I can tell. Thanks a lot

       

Add your voice

 
