RSS

I want to say …

09 Oct

A lot of things to a lot of people. Being able to submit my applications in round one is a direct result of the effort, time and emotions put into the applications by a lot of people. So this post is to say some of the things I want to say to all of you.

First, I want to say “I’m sorry”.

  • To my friends. For the missed/ cancelled hangouts and meet-ups, for not picking, making or returning calls and for practically falling off the face of the planet. I know I had tried to warn you all and block time out for the application but even I did not expect it to consume me the way it did but I will not apologize for that. Y’all would not love me so much if I was any different so go ahead and smile, you know you want to. P.S. You can call now, I have not started my interview preparations. 😀
  • To my colleagues at work. For working at odd hours and making (some of) you work odd hours because I was working on my application and lost track of time. For snapping at you even though the questions weren’t any more stupid than usual and for ignoring you during lunch hours. I know most of you will not read this before I resign from work but when you do, I know you’ll finally understand. The apology for not picking or returning call also applies here.

The main thing I want to say is “Thank You”.

  • To my sister. First let me say that I am glad you’re not an admissions officer, that poor school would have not moe than twenty students (you need to realise we can’t all be geniuses like you). Then I can say thank you, for all the harsh comments and rewrites you made me do. My essays would not have been as good as they were without you. Alo, thank you for pushing me to put myself on the paper not just what I thought the adcom wanted to hear. And for doing more than 2 reviews in a day even though you had to work. I owe you a vacation.
  • To my recommenders. A colleague just asked to recommend her to a school and I now fully understand what it actually means to recommend someone for one school, much less four. Thank you for the time and energy, for picking my calls even though I was calling everyday until I got the email saying the recommendations have been submitted. I hope you said good things about me and nothing about my bullying during this process, it was the stress (Yes, I’m sticking to that story. 🙂 )
  • To friends and colleagues. Because I asked all of you to send me email recommendations so that I could figure out my most impressive traits as seen by others and you all sent me emails. And mostly because you were so amazing in tolerating my rants about the tiniest things that made absolutely no sense to you.
  • To the MBA blogosphere. TopdogMBA sent me a great ebook and some amazing resources, GrantMeadmission gave me great advice, Texawannabecali cheered me on, ProGMAT, PullingthatMBAtrigger, roadtomyMBA, theMBAjourney, MBAonMyMindgmatclub members (esp Nanrenn) all sent me wonderful messages and encouraged me all the way. Mo kept sending me messages that would not let me give up and apply to less schools than planned. The most amazing part of this is that less than four months ago, I didn’t know most of you. You all deserve a standing ovation so please go ahead and take a bow. You rock!!!
  • To KE, BO, KO, TO (Current MBA students). You reviewed my essays severally, reviewed my resume, pointed me in the right directions and I have not even met most of you in person!!! You all encourage me to be part of a community like that gives without expecting anything in return and takes time to help total strangers. From the bottom of my heart, I say a big thank you.
  • To God. Because my faith is a big part of whom I am and because without that faith I may have imploded during this process. But You made the sailing smooth (and I worry about that as usual). Also for giving me a supportive family that absolutely does anything for me without question.

That’s all I want to say for now.

 
20 Comments

Posted by on October 9, 2014 in Application

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

20 responses to “I want to say …

  1. ProGMAT

    October 9, 2014 at 9:32 am

    A Big Thankful message. 😀
    A big thanks for including me. Go for a break for few days before starting for interview. Applications are done. Enjoyy!! 🙂

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      October 9, 2014 at 9:33 am

      You’re welcome. You’ve been a big part of my journey and I appreciate it.

       
  2. MBA on my mind

    October 9, 2014 at 9:57 am

    Phew! That’s a Herculean task you have achieved! Congratulations on sending in all your apps. I am looking forward to hearing the slew of good news now! 😀

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      October 9, 2014 at 10:20 am

      Thanks. I’m also looking forward to that

       
  3. pullingthatmbatrigger

    October 9, 2014 at 10:08 am

    I need to do this soon. Love it! I reaaally think we should meet up no matter where we end up and I know we’re all going to end up somewhere amazing 🙂

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      October 9, 2014 at 12:43 pm

      We should. I think that’s a great idea.

       
    • MBA on my mind

      October 9, 2014 at 1:45 pm

      Yes, pleasee! lets meet, after we’ve put all this application submission business behind us. You guys are an amazing lot!

       
      • NaijaMBAgal

        October 9, 2014 at 3:15 pm

        Agreed. We’ll start planning after we’ve aced the admission

         
  4. Labo Kuti

    October 9, 2014 at 12:46 pm

    Your welcome anytime my darling

     
  5. Labo Kuti

    October 9, 2014 at 12:47 pm

    You’re welcome anytime my darling

     
  6. Mo

    October 9, 2014 at 2:44 pm

    Awwww, u are such a great writer. Please keep up the blog after getting into school. It will be a great help to someone out there. U are very welcome and I feel like I know you already. N.B: We are gonna do a girls nite out when you finally get all the admits, i’m predicting all 4. What a lovely dilemma to be in.

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      October 9, 2014 at 3:16 pm

      I plan to. And I’d love & hope to have that dilemma

       
  7. texaswannabecali

    October 9, 2014 at 6:42 pm

    You’re welcome!!! And best of luck 🙂 Can’t wait to hear good news about interview invites

     
  8. RoadToMyMBA

    October 10, 2014 at 2:56 am

    Such a great post, very inspiring to all of us! Wish you the best luck! =)

     
  9. GrantMeAdmission

    October 15, 2014 at 10:14 pm

    Really inspiring post! Thank you for the shout out, you are going to do great!

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      October 16, 2014 at 4:34 am

      You’re welcome. You’ll do great too.

       

Add your voice

 
