RSS

Happy Independence (Freedom)!!!

01 Oct

Girl_Walking_With_Nigeria_Flag

I’m writing this from the heaven that is known as “post MBA application”. I finally submitted the other two application with a lot more drama than the first two. Before I give you the gist, allow me to say “Happy Independence day!” to my beautiful motherland.  For those of you that don’t know, Naija is what the average Nigerian calls Nigeria informally. So now you know how much I love the country 😀 The timing is perfect, Nigeria celebrates her independence, I celebrate submitting my applications. Now the details on Stanford and Wharton

WHARTON: This was the first application that was ready for submission. I had lots of help from current students in preparing not just the essays but the entire application. Where’s the drama? I stared at th submit button for two days! I would go over the entire application, get to the last part and stare at the button without clicking. I was scared out of my bones to submit it. Yesterday, after members of the gmatclub forum (u gotta love those guys) and my friends reassured me (repeatedly) I submitted. Okay,  I actually clicked the button in error while I was not paying attention, there was no option to cancel and I did not want to risk using the back button on the browser. But I felt good after I submitted. For a few minutes before I had to shift focus to Stanford.

STANFORD: This was the first application I started and the last I submitted. Honestly? As at yesterday night, I was not certain I was going to submit it at all. This application had the most tears and sweat of them all. That essay prompt – what matters most to you and why should be adopted by the CIA. It is definitely fit for torture. As far back as a month ago, I had all other aspects of the application nailed. Even my ‘why stanford’ essay was sitting proudly in my archives. I think I had more than 20 drafts on the values essay (that was what I called it) and by yesterday I was unhappy with all of them. I had the stories I wanted to tell, I had the information I wanted to get across but it just didn’t feel right. All my reviewers thought I had finally lost it. They loved the essay but I told them I was not submitting it. Luckily, between 11pm last night and 7am this morning, I had a stroke of inspiration. When I wrote the essay this time, I knew that was my essay. Only one person read it after it was done but I already knew that was it for me. Would it be enough to get me into Stanford? I hope so.

Good luck to everyone that applied in round one. I pray we do not have to apply in round two. And all the best to those about to write their GMAT.

Now, I’m off to sleep after which I’m going in search of food.

 
15 Comments

Posted by on October 1, 2014 in Application

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

15 responses to “Happy Independence (Freedom)!!!

  1. ProGMAT

    October 1, 2014 at 3:22 pm

    Congratulations for application submission. I think you have submitted a strong essay for STANFORD (I can feel it from your tone). Now is the time to relax and wait for the circus to start. 😛
    All the best to you. Just enjoy your days. 🙂

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      October 1, 2014 at 3:23 pm

      Thanks. I hope the adcom thinks so too

       
  2. topdogmba

    October 1, 2014 at 6:32 pm

    Very excited for you! Well done!
    I really think that Stanford essay gets the most out of you though. I wrote the first draft in the middle of the night and it just felt so amazingly good and honest to get it on paper. I must confess there were a lot of subsequent tweaks but it did convince me that I knew myself very well and had the right motivation for doing an MBA.
    I hope you feel the same and can go one better than me and get an offer!

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      October 1, 2014 at 6:40 pm

      I hope so too. Hope you’re enjoying your holiday.

       
  3. topdogmba

    October 1, 2014 at 6:43 pm

    I am! Check out the picture I just uploaded to my last post! Hope you’re enjoying your (national) holiday!

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      October 1, 2014 at 6:45 pm

      Seenit, lovely view. I slept through the holiday. But I’m glad I didn’t have to be at work.

       
  4. pullingthatmbatrigger

    October 1, 2014 at 8:16 pm

    Congratulations! I have a strong feeling you’ll be done and home clear with R1. Seriously wishing I was in your shoes now, but enjoy it before the stress of waiting knocks you down (I’m currently living through this hell).

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      October 2, 2014 at 4:54 am

      Thanks. Don’t worry, everything will work out fine.

       
  5. Mo

    October 2, 2014 at 8:48 am

    Yay, congrats girl. No we can celebrate…. naija style

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      October 2, 2014 at 9:39 am

      Yesso. But just a bit, we’ll wait for the admissions to start rolling in before the big one

       
  6. gnpth

    October 10, 2014 at 5:30 am

    Hey Congrats for your application submission 🙂 And all the best for you interview 🙂

     
  7. abbeydot

    October 30, 2014 at 2:17 am

    I know that feeling…The best thing that helps on deadline day is that PST timezone is 8 full hours behind Naija….

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      October 30, 2014 at 4:54 am

      Lol. Yes, but it is annoying when you’re waiting for the decision. Let me know how it goes with your application

       

Add your voice

 
