RSS

Mixed feelings

26 Aug

The essays are coming up well. actually, better than well. I can report progress on Stanford, Booth and Wharton essays. Sloan is on a different wavelength but I am certain I will tackle it within the next few days. I’ll get into more details on my approach (more or less; the things that are working for me thus far) but first I want to tell you what’s giving me mixed feelings: I just got out of my supervisor’s office and he’s heard from the grapevine that I am planning to leave for school. While he is supportive of the idea, it now means I may not be able to get into the projects I wanted to get into while I was still here and that really saddens me. He did promise that it would not impact on the decision for the short-term project assignments. I hope get admitted in round one otherwise I may lose out on more than one end.
At the advice of Grantmeadmission and topdogmba (from here), I have been writing everyday and it works. I have a lot of thrash but there are bits and pieces of gems tucked in here and there. Also, I have learnt noticed several things that I do not want to tell the adcom. Here are some of my techniques:

Carve out time: It may seem like moot point but it isn’t. When I started giving myself deadlines (I don’t work late except I absolutely have to, but, I made myself stay behind and insisted that I would only go home after I completed a draft of a particular essay), it worked. After two hours, I finally settled down and did the deed. I hope it never comes to that again because I was so tired and hungry. But I’ll probably do it tomorrow because it is effective and if that is what it takes, I’ll give it. Afterall, deadlines are only a month away.

Write: Another very obvious point but if you’re like me, you probably have four drafts of essays you’ve written in your head and at least one of them sounds great. Take it from me, when you try to put it on paper (or word processor 🙂 ), you’ll discover gaps and holes. You may even end up throwing it aside so take my advice which I got from friends (mentioned earlier) and write. As often as possible.

Carry a recorder (or note) EVERYWHERE: the recorder works better for me because for some reason I cannot explain, ideas come to me in weird places (grocery shops, restrooms even a cinema once). You don’t want to be in a position where you are trying to remember a fabulous idea you had for the essay but did not record or write down anywhere.

In other news, the entire firm seems to have heard about my application, reactions include: shock, anger, requests for information on the process, GMAT related questions, congratulatory messages, offers of assistance. One thing I can’t figure out is how on earth people heard it and who started the damn gossip. Anyway, spilt milk.

Meanwhile, I’m hungry and I have a presentation (not Booth’s application presentation, which, is still under construction) to put together before tomorrow and it’s 7pm here already, So I gotta run. I promise to post more frequently (fingers crossed).

 
9 Comments

Posted by on August 26, 2014 in Application

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

9 responses to “Mixed feelings

  1. ProGMAT

    August 27, 2014 at 1:56 am

    Hey, It sounds great that you have started writing, I am yet to do so :/
    And that recorder thing. Yes, I have also tried it, not for essay though, but for some music and poetry. Once I just woke up and within 2 minutes, some music tone hit my head, I just recorded it and slept. 😀 and made it better afterwords. And believe me, it worked. I will do the same for my essays too. 😉
    All the best for your essay. 😛

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      August 27, 2014 at 8:46 am

      Oh so you’re a muscian, that’s great. Are you applying in round one?

       
      • ProGMAT

        August 27, 2014 at 9:17 am

        Hehe…Not a professional but I love music and mixing (experimental).
        No I am not applying in R1. Not yet done with GMAT. :\

         
        • NaijaMBAgal

          August 27, 2014 at 9:28 am

          You still have time then.

          That’s a great hobby and an excellent EC.

           
          • ProGMAT

            August 27, 2014 at 4:28 pm

            Yupp.. Thats why, giving most of my time to GMAT prep.
            And yeah. Music is life!! I do most of my work listening to music (not studies 😛 ), genre depends on mood and situation. 🙂

             
            • NaijaMBAgal

              August 27, 2014 at 6:08 pm

              Thats cool, I do enjoy music, not as much as you obviously 🙂

               
  2. MBA on my mind

    August 27, 2014 at 5:17 am

    So glad to hear that your essays are shaping up well and great tips, I am going to help myself to them! 🙂 Its great that your supervisor is supportive of you, especially if you intend to get LORs from the said supervisor. Stay positive, I am sure you will get those short term projects and good news will start poring in when round 1 decisions roll around!
    If it’s one thing I can’t stand, its office gossip! But the upside in your case, your colleagues will have plenty of time to plan and throw you a great send off for when you ready to jet off to Business School! 😀

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      August 27, 2014 at 8:48 am

      The upside is the LOR, the downside is that I really wanted the six-month project that starts in January, I’ve really worked hard for it and I can’t get on it.

      As for the send off, they’d better. 😀

       

Add your voice

 
