RSS

One Month to go

21 Aug

Overwhelmed? Not me!

So Me. In exactly one month, I intend to click send on my Sloan Applications but at this moment it is all over the place as are my emotions and thoughts. I have spent more hours working this week than I spent on every other thing put together. I really am not complaining but I’m not thrilled about it either. I did manage to squeeze out three hours to spend with the Stanford admissions team when they came to Nigeria and I’m glad I did. Here’s a summary of the things I learnt or relearnt from that visit and some of them came from Derek Bolton himself, unfortunately, I didn’t get down which came from who.

  • Stanford wants students that know a lot of things and ask a lot of questions
  • Curiosity can be demonstrated by showing interests in a path that is not your core field
  • Write your essays like you are not going to submit them, write like you are writing in your journal for yourself
  • They want to see that you will not struggle in school, either mentally or emotionally
  • To get into stanford is really easy: all you have to do is convince Derek and his team
  • Leadership is a performing act, you get better by practicing
  • Stanford is unique because of the mixture of things it offers not the individual traits, so are you

I got some talk time with a current student (not stanford) and she gave me one tip which I found very helpful: After you’ve drafted your essay, ask yourself (and some friends) if they’ll like to meet the person in the essay. I think that is really key.

I have not made much progress on my essays but I have taken the advice of writing everyday. So far, I have lots of drafts that I will never use. But the advice I got this week from the current student has helped me put things in a better perspective. As I head into the weekend, I expect to come out with more than a few usable drafts and a smile. BTW, TopDogMBA gave me a really awesome gift recently which has fired me up (Y’all can help me say thanks).

I’ve got five weeks to put together four outstanding applications, all I’m saying is thank God I won’t be working between October 1 and October 5, I will need it. Now, I just have to focus on getting current MBA students or recent alums to review my essays (which I hope to get to a workable state). So if you are a current student (first or second year) or a recent graduate (between 2012 & 2014) of Wharton, Stanford, Sloan or Booth and you would not mind helping out a potential alumni of your school, I would really appreciate your candid opinions on my essays, just send me an email (naijambagal@gmail.com)

One of the main reasons, I had to write this post today (I have been planning to write it since Saturday), is so I can wish my friends: GrantMeAdmission and Texaswannabecali all the best in their GMAT exams this weekend. I hope you both hit your target score or score higher than it.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on August 21, 2014 in Application

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “One Month to go

  1. Mo

    August 21, 2014 at 1:24 pm

    Glad you finally posted. This blog has become a kind of addiction for me. *covering face*
    Glad everything is on track. My advice, (if I may), mind what you cut based on advice from reviewers. Stay true to yourself, I’m rooting for you to get into all four.

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      August 21, 2014 at 1:35 pm

      I’m absolutely thrilled to hear that.

      I’ll add yours to the advices I’m working with. I’d just like to get to the point where I am comfortable with the essays. And happy with them.

       
  2. texaswannabecali

    August 21, 2014 at 8:12 pm

    Aw you are so sweet!! Thank you!!
    And good luck to you as well with your essays!! You’re an amazing writer so I know they’ll be fab 🙂

     
  3. MBA on my mind

    August 22, 2014 at 10:29 am

    That’s some great takeaways from the Stanford admissions meet! I am looking forward to seeing them in my town soon!
    I am sure you will do a spectacular job with you applications! All the best! 🙂

     
  4. topdogmba

    August 22, 2014 at 8:12 pm

    Hi there. Thanks for the shout out! I’m just glad to see us looking out for one another on this long and slightly crazy journey.
    From my experience last season you never get fully comfortable with the essays – there are just so many things you can tweak or change your mind about – but there is definitely something to be said about making sure that you can still see you in them, despite all the well-intended advice from reviewers.
    I’m using alums a lot more this time around and not being afraid to take risks. Will see how it works out in just a few months!

     
  5. NaijaMBAgal

    August 22, 2014 at 10:50 pm

    Thanks everyone for the advices and well wishes.

     

Add your voice

 
