RSS

Stepping away from it all

12 Aug

One of my strengths also happens to be one of my major weaknesses (I know this sounds cheesy and everybody advises you not to use that line during your interview but it is true). Let me explain: I have never met a problem I could not solve – which is good. I may not be the smartest, strongest or bravest person in the room but I will keep going at a problem until I get it solved. That is who I am, it’s in my DNA. On the flip side of that, I will rarely do something else until I solve it – not good at all and I usually go into some form of analysis-paralysis or the other. How does this translate to my MBA application?

If you read this, you know I’m having difficulties presenting my post MBA goal in a realistic way that shows not just how achievable it is but why its important to me and how the school fits into the grand plan. I have been so focused on writing this that I have not worked on any of the other essays and submission is about 43 days (6 weeks) away!!

*deep sigh*

So, I’m taking a break which seem counterintuitive considering I was just complaining about the deadlines being so close and not having enough time but I have been taking some courses and one of the things I’ve learnt is that you sometimes have to step away from the problem to solve it. Also, the consultant in me demands that I try another technique since the one I am currently using is not yielding the right results

I’m taking Thursday & Friday off work (luckily I still have some vacation days from last year) and I’ll be taking a personal retreat so I can be alone with my thoughts. Two days of rest and relaxation never hurt anyone. Hopefully, I’ll come back energized and ready to tackle the essays and applications. In the interim; I’m off to schedule some time at the spa.

To all those writing their GMAT, I wish you the best of luck. Go & conquer that hurdle so we can all face our essays and application fully.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on August 12, 2014 in Application

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

11 responses to “Stepping away from it all

  1. ProGMAT

    August 12, 2014 at 1:13 pm

    Ya, sometimes putting a break helps you out with refreshed mind and fruitful ideas (Assuming it, as I am on a break right now 😛 ). I saw a drop in my score of CAT exams after studying regularly for 2 weeks. It drained me out. So better move away from it for a while and come back again with a new ignition. Enjoy to the fullest, these are the moments to live like forever. 🙂

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      August 12, 2014 at 3:05 pm

      Wow. Stepping back definitely makes sense in that situation. How far away is your GMAT date?

       
      • ProGMAT

        August 12, 2014 at 3:18 pm

        My GMAT date is in september 3rd week. I hope I will able to improve my score by than. One more break, and I think I will be done (fingers crossed). 🙄

         
        • NaijaMBAgal

          August 12, 2014 at 3:31 pm

          You have enough time to improve your scores. All the best.

           
          • ProGMAT

            August 12, 2014 at 7:09 pm

            Thank you. Enjoy!! 🙂

             
  2. GrantMeAdmission

    August 12, 2014 at 2:30 pm

    I would say one of the major hurdles of writing essays is not writing. It is better write bad ideas, half ideas, outlandish ideas, than to not write at all. Take it from me and just write for 30 minutes a day. You will surprise yourself!

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      August 12, 2014 at 3:03 pm

      Hmmn… I will try that approach from next week, but I think I will still take this time off to dig deep and tap into the memories that will form the foundation of my essays. I’ll let you know if it works for me when I try it.

       
  3. topdogmba

    August 12, 2014 at 3:35 pm

    I’m sure you’re sick of advice but this article piqued my interest today: http://blog.accepted.com/2014/08/10/6-tips-for-getting-started-on-your-application-essays-2/?utm_content=7310720&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter. It certainly seems to bear our GrantMeAdmission’s advice about just writing something each day.
    Anyway, you know what’s best for you.
    Oh, and in your opening paragraph, you may have hit upon a cool response to essays that ask about a weakness – find one that is also a strength!


    As you can see, I have been trawling Accepted.com today instead of working (nothing else to declare – I’m not a client or paid representative :))
    Enjoy your time out NaijaMBAgal.

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      August 12, 2014 at 3:50 pm

      Lol, I never get tired of advice, OK, I mostly don’t get tired of it and I do get your (your’s and GrantMeAdmission’s) points. which is why I’m going to adopt the technique subsequently.

      On the second point, I know it would address that question, but I have heard countless advice to the contrary. I guess its a matter of opinion.

      Accepted.com has a lot of information, I wouldn’t blame you for that.

       
  4. texaswannabecali

    August 15, 2014 at 4:35 am

    Ah the spa sounds amazing!!
    Sometimes we push ourselves so much that at some point it becomes impossible to continue on without giving our brain and muscles time to relax and rejuvenate. I think that’s applicable to any situation, mentally and physically. Fingers crossed the time off helps!! I would also recommend yoga… I’m a big fan!!

     

Add your voice

 
