RSS

And so went the week

26 Jul

I’m writing this with a new-found appreciation for the gift of sight.

You remember I was supposed to take my GMAT yesterday, well, that didn’t happen. Here’s what happened instead:

On Wednesday, after studying for the GMAT and taking a practice test (GMAT prep) which showed a slight improvement in my verbal (710, Q47, V40 – thanks to all of you for your suggestions), I went to sleep. On Thursday, I woke up with swollen eyelids that would not open, thankfully, my sister and I live together so she was able to get me to the hospital. To cut the long story short; I spent most of the day blind, well partially, after the meds kicked in, I was able to open my eyes halfway.

By Friday morning, the swelling was less than a third of one eye, however, I could not focus on small prints. I had to make a decision: attempt he GMAT or forfeit $250, I chose the latter because I didn’t want any excuses or stories regarding my performance on the exam. I want it to reflect the work I put into preparing and writing on that day would not have done that fr me.

So, I will be writing my GMAT on Wednesday, I’d have chosen Monday, but Monday and Tuesday are public holidays. Five extra days, I plan to make them all count. I’ll let you know how it goes on Wednesday.

Eid-Mubarak to all my Muslim friends (hope I got the spelling right)

 
11 Comments

Posted by on July 26, 2014 in Application

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

11 responses to “And so went the week

  1. topdogmba

    July 26, 2014 at 2:26 pm

    Wow! Quite the story! I’m pleased you were able to reschedule the exam so quickly – best of luck for next Wednesday!

     
  2. scltn

    July 26, 2014 at 2:40 pm

    All the best Naija! Do well!!

     
  3. texaswannabecali

    July 26, 2014 at 3:04 pm

    Awwww I’m so sorry about that! But yes, glad you were able to reschedule asap. Sending lots of luck your way ๐Ÿ™‚ happy studying this weekend

     
  4. MBA on my mind

    July 26, 2014 at 3:11 pm

    Oh noo! I hope you are better!
    710 is a fantastic practice test score. I am sure you will ace the actual test!
    All the best! Keep us posted!

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      July 26, 2014 at 3:13 pm

      Thanks, I can see now ๐Ÿ™‚

      I’ll definitely let you know how it goes.

       
  5. pullingthatmbatrigger

    July 27, 2014 at 7:48 am

    Ow, that must have sucked. But five extra days can only help right! All the best.

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      July 27, 2014 at 8:04 am

      That’s the view I decided to adopt. ๐Ÿ™‚

       

Add your voice

 
