RSS

Admission events – Wharton

21 Jul

Wharton came to Lagos!!! I was going through my admissions log (a cute notebook I use to keep track of all things related to MBA admissions) when I realized I hadn’t shared my experience from the session.

I was really impressed by the event, there were roughly 10-15 applicants, 7 alumni and the director of admissions. It was less of a lecture/ sales pitch and more of a question-and-answer session. With the exception of 1 or 2 fellows with really annoying questions better suited for google than alums and admissions personnel, I would say the questions were really enlightening. Here’s what I added to my long list of Wharton-related admission advice.

  • Don’t take the GMAT more than 3 times, they start averaging your scores rather than using the highest after that – admissions director
  • Be honest, but embellish creatively on your essays. Especially if you only have a general idea of where you want to be after your MBA rather than specifics – alum
  • There has to be something in your past that connects to the future you want, let it shine through in your essays – alum
  • As long as your GMAT scores are not terribly poor, you can still get in, just make the most of your essays – alum
  • Work experience: focus on qualitative measures i.e. what you’ve done, how you’ve grown not on quantitative measures of how long you’ve worked. You just need to show that you’ve worked long enough to decide on the next step of your career regardless of how long that actually is – admissions director

I’m still waiting for a reply to my email on one of the questions I had, which had to be referred to another person. And I got the contact details of some of the alums, I’m still working on my pitch to get them to review my essays. I just have to write the essay first. After I write my GMAT. After I’m satisfied with my study.

Long list of ‘afters‘, it all boils down to the fact that I’m still not happy with my practice exam scores, I’m averaging 680 (Q48, V37). Love the quant score, hate the verbal score. I’m scheduled to write this exam on Friday. Any pointers/ suggestions, especially on how to improve my verbal score will be appreciated.

 
20 Comments

Posted by on July 21, 2014 in Application

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

20 responses to “Admission events – Wharton

  1. Ergen

    July 21, 2014 at 3:23 pm

    Hi. I am in a similar situation. Have you finished all verbal resources? what are your weaknesses? Mine is SC.

     
  2. pullingthatmbatrigger

    July 21, 2014 at 3:30 pm

    I’m totally with you on people asking really stupid questions. I just feel bad for them really, they’re not exactly advocating their candidacy by doing so. As for the verbal, I really found that strategising really helped. Going over the answers once I took a practice test, analysing where I went wrong and kind of identifying those patterns really helped pick up my score. I’m not sure if you’re doing this already, but I can attest to it’s effectiveness.

     
    • Ergen

      July 21, 2014 at 3:40 pm

      Hi. Can I ask your score in verbal?

       
      • pullingthatmbatrigger

        July 21, 2014 at 3:47 pm

        I got a 40 in verbal. Nothing too extraordinary.

         
        • Ergen

          July 21, 2014 at 3:51 pm

          better than 36)) what is your weakness?

           
          • pullingthatmbatrigger

            July 21, 2014 at 3:58 pm

            Honestly, I gave it in 2012 in the middle of summer break at college. I was backpacking through Europe right before and I just winged it. I got extremely lucky and scored a 710. I don’t know how I did it, because I literally had the one GMAT book which I practiced for a week or so. But I remember struggling with the RC and just practicing that section helped tremendously.

             
  3. NaijaMBAgal

    July 21, 2014 at 3:45 pm

    @Ergen- My major weakness is RC, I’ve covered the strategy guides and the OG.

    @pullingthatmbatrigger – I agree. I spent most of the day looking at strategies, when I take my next practice exam, we’ll see if it works. I have been reviewing my answers after each practice exam and have seen some improvement since I started doing that. Thanks.

     
    • Ergen

      July 21, 2014 at 3:49 pm

      unlike sr, rc i think needs time for improvement. do you want to aplly 1st round ?

       
      • NaijaMBAgal

        July 21, 2014 at 3:54 pm

        Yes I do. I have to find a way to make it work.

         
  4. Ergen

    July 21, 2014 at 4:00 pm

    I have some ideas but dont know they will help you or not. I also want to apply Wharton in 1st round as i will have more chances. is there any function here to speak online. Sorry I havent used blogs much. By the way I improved my reading through preparation to toefl.

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      July 21, 2014 at 4:03 pm

      I don’t think wordpress has any such mechanism, but I’ll send you an email.

       
      • Ergen

        July 21, 2014 at 4:07 pm

        ok. I am waiting.

         
  5. texaswannabecali

    July 21, 2014 at 4:01 pm

    Great advice!! Thanks for sharing.

    As far as the verbal struggles, I hear you. I always FEEL like I’m knocking it out of the park until I see my score. My struggle was singlehandedly CR so i bought the Manhattan GMAT Critical Reasoning guide and it has improved my score SO much and I haven’t even finished it yet. I’m pretty sure there is a version for Reading Comp as well if you have some time before your test to go through it.

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      July 21, 2014 at 4:06 pm

      Unfortunately, I have used the manhattan guide. I may go through it again. Thanks

       
      • texaswannabecali

        July 21, 2014 at 4:16 pm

        Oh I see. Yes, sometimes all you can do rinse, cycle, and repeat. It should start sticking eventually. Good luck!!

         
      • Ergen

        July 21, 2014 at 4:28 pm

        I read RC guide but did not find it helpful and i have read a lot of comments which were critisicing that guide. they have good cr but only last one – 5th guide

         
        • texaswannabecali

          July 22, 2014 at 9:33 pm

          Oh really? I didn’t know that.. Thanks for the heads up 🙂

           
  6. Alane

    July 21, 2014 at 5:52 pm

    Hi 9jaMBAGal,

    Have you tried the e-GMAT series (www.e-gmat.com). I scored a 590 on my first GMAT attempt. Q46, V27. What a demoralizing score.

    Got the e-GMAT verbal course. Whoop it. In 6 weeks, I scored a 730. Q46, V44. Couldn’t believe my eyes.

    I am also Nigerian, though lived in Eastern Europe for the past 17 years, since I was 10. As such, English has never been my strong forte; I studied, worked and speak in a different language.

    In addition, I am also applying to Wharton. Might see you there.;)Stanford turned me down for their Africa MBA Fellowship. So, I am not applying there anymore.

    Let’s see what HBS will say. Talk to you, and I wish you all the best.

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      July 21, 2014 at 5:54 pm

      I’ll check it out, thanks a lot.

      That was why I didn’t apply for the Africa fellowship, I felt I wasn’t ready and I may not be confident enough to apply for the MBA if I got turned down for the fellowship.

      Looking forward to talking with you as we proceed with the admission process.

       

Add your voice

 
