RSS

My GMAT journey … so far

10 Jul

I planned to write my GMAT next week, I’m almost there with my studies and with a few more days (read: weekend) I would have been ready to tackle the exam one final time.However,  one out-of-state wedding, one 3-day workshop and average verbal scores have put an end to that plan. I have to study a lot more particularly reading comprehension (which is not going so well due to my inability to focus on long paragraphs).

For other people studying for GMAT, here’s my advice (mostly things that I think are working for me right now):

  1. Know the fundamentals.  Study the basics of the material, for those of you that schooled in the US, high school was a long time ago. Those of us that didn’t may find that there are some strategies and details we do not know but need for the exam. Before you jump into practice questions, study the fundamentals.
  2. Practice,  practice,  practice: get used to the question types and structures. Knowing the answer formats (especially for Data sufficiency) will buy you some much-needed time. Pace yourself during the practice sessions,  what use is solving one question correctly if it means you will not see the last 3 questions in the section?
  3. Review your answers: find out why you failed the questions you failed and how to avoid failing a similar question next time. Review the questions you passed especially if you were not certain of the answer when you wrote it.
  4. Work on your nerves, I’m not sure how you can do this but It is very important. For me, taking a breath and counting to 5 helps me refocus and shake the nerves of. Do whatever works for you.

That’s all I have for now. I still plan to take the exam this month, I’ll let you know how it goes.

P.S. There’s a GMAT center in Lagos now, maybe even two.  So, I won’t have to travel for the exam 🙂

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 10, 2014 in Application

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “My GMAT journey … so far

  1. LTN

    July 14, 2014 at 12:41 pm

    Naija,

    I think you’re are pretty much covered with your preparations! I wish you the absolute best and hope that you do amazing at the test!!

    LTN

     

Add your voice

 
