RSS

Application Advice & June roll-call

30 Jun

June has already ended! One major thing that happened this month was that I got a lot of advice from people (current students, Alumni, Colleagues, even Adcoms – from events I attended). So I’m putting them up here so that everybody can benefit from them, you can add yours in the comment section so I can also benefit from them. They are listed in no particular order:

  • The entire application is important; use every bit of it. Let your all your responses and answers demonstrate that you are ideal for the school.

  • Talk to people, current students, newly admitted students, alums (even current applicants, here’s where forums like GMAT club come in handy).
  • Do a lot of introspection, if you don’t believe what you are saying, chances are: no one else will.
  • Start early. A lot of things go into an application, you don’t wanna rush through the process and miss something.
  • Answer the questions; don’t get so carried away writing your essay or short answers that you forget to answer the question being asked.
  • Be honest with yourself applying to
  • Know the school you are a
  • Do not lie on your application.
  • Personalize your application.
  • Get your recommendations from people who know you well enough and give them some guidance (this will explain better).
  • Be sure to show why the school you are applying to is the best place for you.
  • Let your application show that your skills, experience and personality make you a great fit for the school.
  • Tackle one school at a time.
  • Do not submit too early (you may have some almost-last-minute flash of genius that you need to include in your application).
  • Do not submit too late (a technical glitch may push you into the next round).

I didn’t get up to 120 hours of study for the GMAT this month, but I’m done with studying the fundamentals and strategies; also, I have commenced answering practice questions. My resume has been drafted and reviewed, I have talked to my recommenders and have even gotten the first drafts of my essays (not usable but I have started writing, which is the most important thing). Not the best month but definitely a good one, I look forward to July.

P.S: Anyone else noticed that the Stanford application portal is now online? But I digress, any other application tips or advice?

 
3 Comments

Posted by on June 30, 2014 in Application

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Application Advice & June roll-call

  1. topdogmba

    June 30, 2014 at 12:04 pm

    Hi there. Sounds like you have covered a lot of things which is great!
    I touched upon some of the mistakes I made here: http://topdogmba.com/2014/05/04/im-a-loser/.
    I’d definitely say you should not underestimate how much effort is required to get your recommenders submitted on time. It was a whole educational experience for me having non-American and/or non-MBA recommenders, to make them realise how direct and detailed they had to be.
    One thing you didn’t mention is having a few people who you really trust and really know you to read your stuff. They will be able to tell you honestly if they see you (the best side of you, obviously, but still you!) in your essays, questions, resume etc. It’s painful to do this – at least it should be painful to have someone reading your life story! – but it was a very useful experience for me.
    Enjoying your blog. Keep your chin up and good luck!

     
  2. GrantMeAdmission

    July 2, 2014 at 3:56 pm

    Nice… I recommend keeping a list of items you want to accomplish every month. As far as keeping with your study/mba targets… break it down to every day… it’ll help!
    Every day I say I want to get 1 hour before I got to work, and that helps boost my hours quite a bit!

     
  3. Koodzi

    July 2, 2014 at 7:47 pm

    Love your list! I got into Stanford GSB for Class of 2016 and people ask me for advice and I do believe you’ve hit the nail on the head. The most important part for me is “be honest with yourself” and like TopDogMBA says, “have people that you trust” is so so crucial.

    I tough on this in my video blog:
    Getting into Stanford GSB – Tips: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_2Pcn_VQuDo

     

Add your voice

 
