RSS

Introspecting…

07 Jun

I plan to apply to four or five schools in round 1 (Wharton, Stanford, Sloan, Booth and one other school I’m yet to decide on). Since most of them have their deadlines by October 1 (some deadlines are earlier than that), I have decided to start working on my essays while still preparing for my GMAT (I may as well start practicing my multi-tasking skills for B-school).

For the past few days, I’ve been asking myself a lot of questions and keeping track of my answers in the note that has become my ever-present companion. The answers will help me explain my decisions during the entire application process and possibly after it, to myself and to any other person that asks. Here’s my list of questions:

  • Why MBA?
  • Why now?
  • What are my long-term goals?
  • What are my short-term goals?
  • What do I have to offer my MBA class?
  • How has my life and career led to this point?
  • Why should any school admit me?
  • Why do I want to go to this school (for each school)?

My approach is to answer each as many times as possible during the week I have earmarked for the entire exercise and collate all my answers by the end of the exercise. I’m not writing essays or stories in response to any of the questions, just bullet point answers.

These questions are just to force me to think through my decisions so that I can better articulate my thoughts in response to any essay prompts or questions in the application portals. I also know these questions are not exhaustive so I’ll appreciate it if you let me know of any good ones I may have missed.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 7, 2014 in Application

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Add your voice

 
