RSS

GMAT

07 May

If only standardized exams were not required for MBA admission then I wouldn’t have had to write this post. As you may have guessed from my first statement, I don’t like exams. So, I am biased when I say that writing the GMAT is one thing I am glad I don’t have to deal with again. Now that I’ve said that, let me also confess that I had to write it twice.  And still didn’t reach my target score.

I have a lot of excuses and reasons why I flunked. But that’s not why we’re here. Let me give you some advice I wish I’d received before I wrote my GMAT;

It is not common sense neither is it common knowledge.  There are skills required to effectively conquer the GMAT (which I obviously didn’t master). Don’t just do practice questions particularly if you studied in Nigeria (I’m guessing other African countries fall within this category too), study the underlying principles.

Just because you speak and write well doesn’t mean you’ll ace the verbal. You’ve got to trust me on this. I experienced the lowest score possible in my first verbal, so low that I had to google ‘lowest GMAT verbal score’ after the exam. And while I’m on this, let me tell you that both sections of the exam are important. Sincerely.

Lastly, don’t be fooled by your scores in the practice/simulated exams. You may score higher or lower in the actual exams.

To those of you planning to write the GMAT,  I wish you the very best. Just write it on time and get it done with so you can face the rest of your application.

P.S: If you are in Nigeria,  plan to write your GMAT exam in Abuja. That’s the only center in the country as at the time of writing this post.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 7, 2014 in Application

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “GMAT

  1. Omolola

    July 4, 2014 at 9:07 pm

    Hello, I plan to go for my MBA next year and write my GMAT this year. I actually got an admission offer from University of Toronto(used my GRE test scores) but I couldnt afford it; therefore my option for an MBA is to get full/partial scholarship and thus the decision to write the GMAT. Pls what are the best GMAT books to get over 750. I plan to write the exam for early October.

     
    • NaijaMBAgal

      July 5, 2014 at 8:53 am

      I really don’t think it depends on the books. I think its more of your preparation and knowledge. I’m using the official guides and Manhattan strategy guides. Also practicing a lot of questions. Hope this helps

       

Add your voice

 
